We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“More than satisfied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
“More than satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Unfortunately, when visiting Washington DC, my friend and I met the federal government shutdown. However, we had happy time in the hotel. The front desk was friendly, the hallway was bright, and the room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We spent some time in warm swimming pool and gym. In addition, the hotel provided free bus shuttle to Vienna Metro Station in weekdays (maybe around 6:00-9:00AM, 4:30-9:30PM). It was convenient for us, especially for people who did not want to park in Washington DC. Generally speaking, the quality of hotel is beyond my expectation and this hotel is the best hotel I stayed so far in this trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuoI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    69
    39
    15
    16
See reviews for
61
38
22
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

What I like about the stay:
1. Wonderful, free shuttle
We were two people traveling together. Since we didn't have a car, the free shuttle service was really helpful! (Had a good time chatting with the chauffeur, Robert, who was very friendly.) One day we got up late and had to change our schedule for the day. When we asked the front desk to cancle our booking at the last minute and booked a new time, she replied with a smile, "Not a problem!"
2. Friendly staff
At breakfast, the staff members always greeted us. Nothing significant, but heart-warming for foreign travelers like us.
3. Clean, warm-water pool
We had a good time swimming in the warm pool and got a nice suntan. (By the way, we didn't know we had to sign a "waiver" when the lifeguard isn't on duty and thus directly plunged into the water. The manger found out and only kindly "reminded" us of the regulation, without embarrassing us.)

All in all, we got a friendly reception and enjoyed the stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yoyoyoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfax Comfort Inn from Sept. 18 to 23rd and was very happy with our accomodation's
Our vacation was to visit DC and with the costs of hotels in and near DC at a all time high we decided
to check out areas in VA. We was looking for a hotel that would have free parking, and free breakfast at a price less then $100 a night and we got that at this location. To help us on expenses we purchased a Groupon voucher but even without it we still would have saved. The room was clean and comfortable.
It had a refrigerator and microwave which was a great help for us. It also had a Jacuzzi tub of which
we did not use.
The desk clerks was nothing but great. All employee's was very friendly and helpful.
We used the Vienna Metro station to get into DC and back. Even tho they had a free shuttle, we chose
to drive to the Metro station and park for $4.50 per day M-F and free on weekends. We did drive to Mount Vernon and Arlington Cemetery in our rental car. I would not advise driving in DC. We got lost most of the timeand the traffic is horrible.
We would recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor (6th floor) and away from the elevators. Very quiet around us during t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedontheheadIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We purchased a Groupon and got a great rate on a room to take the family up for one night. We did not have high expectaitons considering the room rate. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was nothing extravagant, but was clean and worked great for us. The front desk staff were very welcoming and polite. The free breakfast in the morning was nice and included fresh made waffles, which the kids really enjoyed. Overall, the accomodations and staff made this a great overnight trip for the family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamaluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,
Mariana B. Vilchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The manager needs to address the un-trained, rude staff issue, instead of posing as a fake guest, posting fake praise to cover up the real issue. Some basic customer interaction training will be helpful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Dan,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berschweiler germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had to find a place quickly due to a friend's hospitalization and this was perfect. Had no idea about the layout of the DC area so I just took a chance. Besides being close (10-15 minutes) to the hospital, it was close to grocery stores, shopping, restaurants and was in a very safe area. The free parking, complimentary breakfast and free internet access sweetened the deal. The rooms were huge, would've been great for a family on a budget. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dodteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jefferson montanana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to be helpful and to be polite. I got lost driving to the hotel, i called the desk and they kept me on the phone and they talked me in to the hotel parking lot. All the front desk staff that i talked to were engaging and helpful with ideas when asked. The price of the room for $90 plus tax was tolerable for the area. The kitchenettes were clean and comfortable. The staff was well trained, most of the staff was of foreign decent and you had to listen through their accents carefully, but what you heard was someone very nice trying to help you. The breakfast was great and the continental breakfast was something that you would actually eat. There was plenty of food to feed everybody even as late as 10:30. They had sausage,scrambled eggs,breakfast cereals,donuts,muffins,waffles,coffee,apple juice,and orange juice. I will definitely go back in the future if the need arises.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfax
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
#10 of 16 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#23 of 49 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 377 reviews
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
#11 of 14 in Tysons Corner
3.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
11.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Property: Comfort Inn University Center
Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030-5048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing