We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Need to address the staff issue” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Need to address the staff issue”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The manager needs to address the un-trained, rude staff issue, instead of posing as a fake guest, posting fake praise to cover up the real issue. Some basic customer interaction training will be helpful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Dan,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    72
    39
    15
    16
See reviews for
62
39
22
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berschweiler germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had to find a place quickly due to a friend's hospitalization and this was perfect. Had no idea about the layout of the DC area so I just took a chance. Besides being close (10-15 minutes) to the hospital, it was close to grocery stores, shopping, restaurants and was in a very safe area. The free parking, complimentary breakfast and free internet access sweetened the deal. The rooms were huge, would've been great for a family on a budget. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dodteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jefferson montanana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to be helpful and to be polite. I got lost driving to the hotel, i called the desk and they kept me on the phone and they talked me in to the hotel parking lot. All the front desk staff that i talked to were engaging and helpful with ideas when asked. The price of the room for $90 plus tax was tolerable for the area. The kitchenettes were clean and comfortable. The staff was well trained, most of the staff was of foreign decent and you had to listen through their accents carefully, but what you heard was someone very nice trying to help you. The breakfast was great and the continental breakfast was something that you would actually eat. There was plenty of food to feed everybody even as late as 10:30. They had sausage,scrambled eggs,breakfast cereals,donuts,muffins,waffles,coffee,apple juice,and orange juice. I will definitely go back in the future if the need arises.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We purchased the groupon deal to stay two nights here before we flew out early morning via IAD. The location is perfect for us: 20 mins drive to the airport and 30 mins drive to downtown DC's museum area. The parking is free and a continental breakfast is included. The room is huge. Tons of stores and restaurants around.

Not the quietest or cleaniest place to stay, but for $70 dollars/night, we thought it was a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

One of the breakfast staff doesn’t speak English. She thought that we belong to a group, and we should eat at group room. I explained to her in English three times, she still didn’t understand. She yelled at us. During the whole breakfast, she harassed us, kept yelling at us. We reported the situation to the front desk. The front desk staff just said that the manager was not here. And there was nothing she could do. The whole experience made the stay a very bad experience. It significantly negatively affected the hotel’s image.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I came here for our wedding night and then again for our 6 month anniversary. We loved it here. Both times we asked for a room with a whirlpool/jacuzzi and we were delighted. The room was very large, and the jacuzzi was perfect. The only odd thing is that the toilet area is closed by two slatted doors, so there is no dampening of sound for anyone in the bedroom area while you use the toilet. However this did not dampen how pleased we were with the hotel. We will almost certainly come here again and would definitely recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: I would ask for the rooms with the whirlpool/jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HopeSellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn on Monday August 5th 2013. We had traveled to the DC area to take in a game between the Braves (whoo-o) and the Nats. We got there early around 2 pm. They allowed us to check in early which was great. The location of the motel is convenient to Restaurants and I-66. Our room was very nice though a little dated. It had a nice size flat screen tv and there was a Jacuzzi in our room which we enjoyed. However we were very dissappointed when having got there early we decided to go for a swim before we went to the game and found out that the pool isn't open except between the hours of 5-10 pm. I thought that is so ridiculous. The sun isn't shining and everyone is either having dinner or is (as we were) out during those hours. My son tells me that it may be due to a ridiculous law (my commentary) in northern va that there has to be a life guard on duty for the pool to be open. I don't know but I know that it really affected how I am reviewing the hotel. They have both and indoor and outdoor pool but it is unavailabe when most people would need it.
The breakfast the next morning was good and the staff was nice but not sure that we will stay here again in the summer time anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dic1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfax
6.7 mi away
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
Quality Inn Tysons Corner
#11 of 14 in Tysons Corner
3.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
10.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
Comfort Inn Arlington Boulevard
#9 of 15 in Falls Church
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 12 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Ballston
Comfort Inn Ballston
#23 of 50 in Arlington
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Dulles Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Property: Comfort Inn University Center
Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030-5048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing