We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn on Monday August 5th 2013. We had traveled to the DC area to take in a game between the Braves (whoo-o) and the Nats. We got there early around 2 pm. They allowed us to check in early which was great. The location of the motel is convenient to Restaurants and I-66. Our room was very nice though a little dated. It had a nice size flat screen tv and there was a Jacuzzi in our room which we enjoyed. However we were very dissappointed when having got there early we decided to go for a swim before we went to the game and found out that the pool isn't open except between the hours of 5-10 pm. I thought that is so ridiculous. The sun isn't shining and everyone is either having dinner or is (as we were) out during those hours. My son tells me that it may be due to a ridiculous law (my commentary) in northern va that there has to be a life guard on duty for the pool to be open. I don't know but I know that it really affected how I am reviewing the hotel. They have both and indoor and outdoor pool but it is unavailabe when most people would need it.
The breakfast the next morning was good and the staff was nice but not sure that we will stay here again in the summer time anyway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dic1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn University Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 254 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with 2 adjoining rooms. One of the rooms smelled strongly of mold, which was disgusting. Bathrooms are in desperate need of an update, and are WAY too small. Rooms were decent, with fridge and coffee maker. All of the pillows were much too soft and did not provide sufficient head/neck support, causing pain the next day. Free breakfast and parking were fine. At only $104/night, this hotel is fine for the price, but I would probably spend a little more for better hotel next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank am84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,


Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed at the Comfort Inn University Center the night before visiting DC with my family. Near I-66 into town, so traveling into DC on Saturday was very convenient. (Travel on 66 during weekdays maybe different, so check.) We were given a large two double bed room with kitchen. Comfortable and clean. The kids enjoyed the pool and the value for price is very good.

Staff was very helpful and friendly, were easy to deal with, and offered great suggestions when asked.

They do host group tours, but not a problem for average traveler. I even recognized the property from a trip I took to DC with my students. Hotel has two towers, seemed like the groups were in the other tower from us, and groups had a separate breakfast area

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmc11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a very nice property and has spacious rooms with all facilities. Beds were quite comfy and the hotel is very well maintained. Breakfast was quite good and had a diverse menu. Recommended for visitors in transit. In all, a value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mast07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Hi Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a great place to stay! The room was spacious, clean and COMFORT-able but that's in the name. The lobby was welcoming as were the staff. We relaxed in the lobby and made some new friends. The shuttle to the Metro was convenient and made our journey's into DC so easy. Lots of places nearby to eat or shop and the 'old town' area was quaint and inviting. I've already recommended this hotel to others and will certainly stay there when we return to this area.

Room Tip: It seemed that any choice would be a good one. I never heard any other guest complain, not once.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Barbara,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were large. Service was excellent! Close to the metro. We had 6 of us staying in the same room and it was comfortable. Pool was enjoyable and breakfast was a plus! I would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBrush8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Brush,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Two words; Hero Brian

I bring my daughter and her friend to the Fairfax area over the summer for figure skating training. I decided to stop in the hotel much earlier than check in time. The kids ran in to see if the room was ready while I sat outside making some calls. Not only did Brian let us check in early but he also let the girls pick out the floor and room before I even walked in the lobby. From that point the girls referred to Brian at the front desk as Hero Brian!

The following week we stayed at a different hotel. The girls ran in before again me expecting the front desk to let them pick their room. The front desk personnel wouldn't even speak to the girls until I walked in. They were highly disappointed and asked to leave and go to the hotel that "Hero Brian" worked at.

You can stay at a fancier hotel but I assure you there's no "Hero Brian" there.

This hotel is clean, reasonably priced, perfect location for where we are going and the staff is very welcoming! Don't let the outside appearance fool you!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytofuchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, General Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hi Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, if you would like to post it on tripadvisor is www.tripadvisor.com/reviewit, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mariana Vilchez
General Manager
Comfort Inn University Center
703-591-5900 ext 7193

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Fairfax
Best Western Fairfax
#9 of 21 in Fairfax
441 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
#6 of 21 in Fairfax
138 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030-5048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range: $82 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing