We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, nice location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable, nice location, friendly staff”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

If I could give half stars, I would give this place 3.5 stars. I rounded up to 4 because I recently gave another place 3 stars that was significantly worse than this place. We had a spacious room with a fridge and microwave. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was quite nice.

We didn't get to use the pool because of some llifeguard rule in Fairfax. Apparently, the hotel does not employ a lifeguard during the day, so our kids were disappointed. However, we did use the shuttle service to the train station which made access to DC a snap. There are numerous restaurants in the area, as well as a grocery store right across the street.

If you want to stay somewhere without spending a fortune, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bahmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment and for rating your stay. We wish you the best in all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    78
    42
    19
    18
See reviews for
72
39
23
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I needed to stay in Fairfax for 2 nights on business and booked this room online (mainly because they offer competitive pricing). Many other hotels in Fairfax asking $200/nt. I was very wary of the internet after reading some other reviews but it worked very well for me. The Wifi was on a secure network (Front Desk has password) and was just a fast as my home with no drops. The front desk employees were all very nice and accomodating of any requests I had. Was also happy with the breakfast, can't ask for more from a complimentary breakfast than sausage, scrammbled eggs, and belgian waffle makers.
Great place for me when I need to come back, everything is adequate without "breaking the bank" (my room came to just under $150 after taxes). Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickG813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment and for rating your stay. We wish you the best in all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Needed a hotel with only a few days notice for 2 nights. The room had a small kitchen area with stove, oven, microwave and fridge (slightlt higher in price but well worth it). Also a couch and wing back chair. Free wi-fi; desk areaTypical breakfast fare but plenty of it. The check in person Sushiel was very friendly with a ready smile and helpful suggestions. There is all the usual places to eat nearby as well as a grocery store. Very refreshing pool. Total non smoking rooms. Upon check out, Diego asked each person for suggestions for improvements. Mine: vent in bathroom and one stronger lightbulb

Room Tip: Room 333 was great; roomy and very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucson_AZAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment and for rating your stay. We wish you the best in all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have just stayed one night at this hotel. Dirty sheets and pillows. Bathroom is in bad condition. Breakfast is ok.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kader S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2017
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, it is very important to us when we hear back from our guests. We sincerely apologize that your review was over looked and have no excuse but have learned from our mistake and we will ensure all reviews are properly responded to within a reasonable time frame. We hope that you will continue to write reviews where every you go. We wish you the best in all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Good:
Easy in & out, spacious room, quiet & good water pressure
Not so good:
Housekeeping can't tuck-in sheets, crappy wifi & typical crappy breakfast (not much of any healthy choices)
Absolutely average.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zzamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2017
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, it is very important to us when we hear back from our guests. We sincerely apologize that your review was over looked and have no excuse but have learned from our mistake and we will ensure all reviews are properly responded to within a reasonable time frame. We hope that you will continue to write reviews where every you go. We wish you the best in all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Everyone was super nice! Call out to James P and Derrick for taking extra time to accomodate my family's needs!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarod d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2017
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, it is very important to us when we hear back from our guests. We sincerely apologize that your review was over looked and have no excuse but have learned from our mistake and we will ensure all reviews are properly responded to within a reasonable time frame. We hope that you will continue to write reviews where every you go. We wish you the best in all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Front desk crew was great during our 3 day stay. The shuttle to the Metro stop was very helpful and pretty timely. You will need a car at this location. The in room wifi was spotty at best but it did work. The hotel itself was comfortable, but as others have mentioned it is dated. Housekeeping was just ok...and if you are a coffee drinker make sure they refill your coffee packets or you may not have any available in the morning.

My biggest complaint was that the electrical plugs are worn out and trying to charge computers and cell phones was challenging. We had to unplug the lamps to plug in the phones so the room was dark. Now a day plugs are at a premium since many of us carry multiple chargable devices.

Just keep in mind the rate you are paying and don't expect too much...they were far more affordable than others in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REF531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort_Inn_Fairfax, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn University Center, responded to this review, April 26, 2017
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay, it is very important to us when we hear back from our guests. We sincerely apologize that your review was over looked and have no excuse but have learned from our mistake and we will ensure all reviews are properly responded to within a reasonable time frame. We appreciate you kind words and have since upgraded the Wi Fi to fiber which is super fast. We hope that you will continue to write reviews where every you go. We wish you the best in all your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
1.4 mi away
Best Western Fairfax
Best Western Fairfax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
#10 of 21 in Fairfax
82 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Property: Comfort Inn University Center
Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030-5048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing