We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best place to stay in the Fairfax area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn University Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn University Center
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Wayland, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in the Fairfax area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days, we had a kitchenette room with two double beds, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the room was clean, the pool was wonderful and the best part of the FREE shuttle to the area metro system. Getting around DC on the metro was made very easy. I highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: If extended stay, ask for the kitchenette, had microwave, refrigerator and stove cook top
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    73
    40
    16
    16
See reviews for
64
39
22
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

The hotel requires better maintenance. Common areas poorly cleaned - both lobby and floors. Management seems lacking, with one housekeeping panic after another. Staff are well intentioned and try to help, but there seems to be a lack organization. Elevator is extremely slow.

The hotel hosts what seem to be religious events for large numbers of local residents. Their numbers are so large that one feels that they crowd out the guests (from parking spots to lobby and breakfasts rooms.

Otherwise my stay was the stay was good.

Room Tip: Great small Italian restaurant at 10579 FAIRFAX BLVD: VESPUCCI
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayLou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south jersey
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days while visiting Mt. Vernon and DC. We found the room comfortable and clean. The staff was nice. The breakfast provided was the standard for this hotel chain. The pool hours were odd in that it did not open until 5pm. If you have kids, that is not exactly too helpful. The hotel is about a 10 drive away from the metro. The hotel provides a shuttle service to the station, but it was not super convenient for a family. Also, this metro station is as far out from DC as you can get, so you will be paying the highest cost for metro tickets to get into the city. There are plenty of restaurants nearby. We liked this hotel, but it wasn't an ideal location for DC tourists.

Room Tip: Fridge and microwave in rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disneygirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel was only $89/night, ($98 with tax). The pool was cloudy and had a strong chlorine smell. One reason I chose this hotel was because I like to swim laps and the pool looked nice in the pictures. However, it is only open from 5-10PM during the week, so I could not swim in the AM before I left. There is a lifeguard at the pool who told us this. The fire alarm went off @ around 7AM and everyone had to evacuate. I wasn't even dressed yet. Turned out it was a false alarm, but of course, the fire dept came and everyone had to remain outside for about 25 minutes. The room itself was okay. The beds were comfy and the room was clean. Typical free breakfast, but most of it was picked over by 8:30AM.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VaDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We reserved 50 plus rooms for a cheering competition. We had all indivual check in so I thought it would be a disaster. Just the opposite they were ready and waiting for us. They knew I was the group leader and NO changes were allowed without my prior consent. The hotel was always clean and very accommodating to us and our bus drivers.
They were friendly and extremely fast checking us both in and out.

I would reccomend this hotel for both small and large groups well worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reenabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

I have stayed in many hotels over the years and I would have to say that staff here is probably the most courtesy and helpful I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. Everyone I talked to was polite, cheerful and willing to help. The front desk staff was very patient with me, helped me printout, and fax forms I needed for my work. All and all this was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STPIERREJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

I have stayed here quite a few times in the past 2 years. This time I was surprised to find a Jacuzzi in my room! Not sure why I was upgraded for no extra cost but really so greatful. I come here for medical treatments and the jacuzzi and pool made it so much nicer for my overnight between treatments. Internet a bit slow but wifi was good to have even if not high speed. Staff, breakfast, everythig was great! Fast, efficient check-in and check-out. Convenient location.

Room Tip: belong to choice priveleges
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daycolores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University Center

Property: Comfort Inn University Center
Address: 11180 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Fairfax
Comfort Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing