We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mediocrity personified” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington, IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mediocrity personified”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

This is a fairly modern hotel with decent decor located close to access roads that will take you pretty much where you want to go. There are stores and restaurants close by and if you are so inclined, the NRA museum is literally a block away. This hotel is not nearly as 'user friendly' as other places I have stayed. We did not opt to include breakfasts and we were absolutely shocked at the prices. When you travel with kids, the thought of $50 for breakfast in the hotel is pretty insane. I realize that the Virginia / DC area is known for crime and this hotel has locks on all the exit doors that you have to slide your room key to open....what a pain. Oh well, at least the key area is right next to the ashtrays so you get to experience the the overwhelming odor of putrid cigarettes while you struggle to get your key in while all your luggage gets soaked in the rain. Lovely.
The staff was at least cordial, that was a plus, but it didn't make up for mattresses that were SO floppy and worn out, that it was like sleeping on an old air mattress suspended by bungee cords.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t61travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    80
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
58
38
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Lovely hotel. Nice staff and close to shopping. Rooms was like new and clean!

Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PaulaAnnRiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

I stayed in this hotel a few times early 2009, it's on a major road with everything close to it, my favorite restaurant around here is Joes Crab Shack.

Hotel is clean, Internet speed was good and I really like the new Courtyard design both in the lobby and in the rooms. This is the best place to saty if you need to fly out of Dullas airport the next day, it is about 12 miles from the airport and it takes about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toojays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

I stayed three nights here on business and loved it. The decor and atmoshere of the lobby/dining area were incredible. Breakfast was good. There were booths with private flat screen televisions. I got up early each morning to enjoy the coffee and paper in the lobby (choice of Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, USA Today). I kept the sign on my door my entire stay to keep housekeeping from coming in (not very needy) and they left a bag hanging on my door with fresh towels and toiletries--very nice gesture that I haven't seen elsewhere. Friendly staff, easy check-in and check-out. Cab ride to the nearest metro station was 13.65 before tip. The metro ride into DC was pretty long though. The room was very nice and modern, although the room set-up was unusual. First time in a hotel room when the headboard was the part of the bed closest to the door. and the TV (a nice flat screen) was off to the side of the bed, where it wasn't all that convenient to watch, either from bed or from the couch, but it turns on its stand, which helps. The couch was nice (I think a pull out; I was in a king bedroom) and the desk was nice, with a roll-out section for added space. The room also had a nice balcony (although I didn't use it) over looking the courtyard. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HTMHokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

I loved this hotel. It was a bit far from our business location but was $70 cheaper than a hotel in Tyson's corner area.

It was new and very modern with a contemporary look from the lobby to the hallway to the guest rooms. The pool and exercise room looked HUGE. There is even a large spacious business area. Free wireless.

Beds were super comfortable. I got a great nights sleep.

The only complaint that I have is that my HUGE digital Flatscreen tv got an analog signal so the picture was a bit "fuzzy" and they only sold pepsi products.

I would definately stay here again for business or bring my family here for leisure events in the area.

They had a "grill area" in the lobby vs. a restuarant. I thought it was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

Consistent Marriott quality all around - friendly service at check in/out and the Bistro, very comfortable bed, and clean room. The updated modern decor throughout the lobby and Bistro was eye catching and gave a very inviting feeling to the hotel's common areas. This modern decor was carried over to the guest rooms - great new furnishings made the rooms even more comfortable.
This was the first Courtyard that I've visited with the new Bistro/bar concept. It had a good selection of cook to order breakfasts as well as on the run items. At night, it was a comfortable place for a night cap with communal tables as well as private booths.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hhkexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

This was a nice place to stay for the week while visiting Wash. DC. It is only about 3 miles from the metro that has free parking on week-ends. During the week you can take a bus to the metro station from in front of the hotel (we had trouble with this as the staff knew nothing about the time tables).
This was a clean and comfortable place. We had a room with a balcony over the parking lot and we got a lot of noise in the morning. You should try to get a room facing the courtyard. Priceline rooms automatically give you a king size bed. We needed two beds, which she was willing to give us (she said they usually cost more). We ended up with two queens and a refrigerator.
The pool was wonderfully warm everyday. They do have a lifeguard watching you all the time (a little awkward).
There is no free breakfast, but a lot of expensive food choices you can buy at their cafe.
They have several computers downstairs to use. The connection in my room was always shutting down. You had to keep re-registering every 24 hours. Okay for one day, but gets to be a pain every night when you want to come back to your hotel and get on your laptop.
They had coffee and hot water downstairs all the time. Very nice courtyard. Very nice lobby with seating areas and large tvs.
Great location next to grocery store, fast food, firearms museum.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganCindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
1.2 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks

Property: Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Memorial Hwy, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030-6023
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Fairfax hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Courtyard
Fairfax Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing