We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the new decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Ho Kus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Love the new decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

Consistent Marriott quality all around - friendly service at check in/out and the Bistro, very comfortable bed, and clean room. The updated modern decor throughout the lobby and Bistro was eye catching and gave a very inviting feeling to the hotel's common areas. This modern decor was carried over to the guest rooms - great new furnishings made the rooms even more comfortable.
This was the first Courtyard that I've visited with the new Bistro/bar concept. It had a good selection of cook to order breakfasts as well as on the run items. At night, it was a comfortable place for a night cap with communal tables as well as private booths.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhkexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    88
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
62
40
17
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2009

This was a nice place to stay for the week while visiting Wash. DC. It is only about 3 miles from the metro that has free parking on week-ends. During the week you can take a bus to the metro station from in front of the hotel (we had trouble with this as the staff knew nothing about the time tables).
This was a clean and comfortable place. We had a room with a balcony over the parking lot and we got a lot of noise in the morning. You should try to get a room facing the courtyard. Priceline rooms automatically give you a king size bed. We needed two beds, which she was willing to give us (she said they usually cost more). We ended up with two queens and a refrigerator.
The pool was wonderfully warm everyday. They do have a lifeguard watching you all the time (a little awkward).
There is no free breakfast, but a lot of expensive food choices you can buy at their cafe.
They have several computers downstairs to use. The connection in my room was always shutting down. You had to keep re-registering every 24 hours. Okay for one day, but gets to be a pain every night when you want to come back to your hotel and get on your laptop.
They had coffee and hot water downstairs all the time. Very nice courtyard. Very nice lobby with seating areas and large tvs.
Great location next to grocery store, fast food, firearms museum.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganCindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

service, GREAT rooms, a nice cafe, and EVERY employee I met seemed to like to be there... a very nice hotel.

WOW!!! I travel a great deal and this makes my top-business hotels list... I'll be staying here a lot...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YardApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

For the short time I was at the hotel I had a very nice staff and the staff were very polite. Upon returning to the hotel that evening we wished to purchase some food from the onsite mini store. They were all out of the items we wanted to purchase but the attendent on site went to look for some more and returned with enough for everyone. He then proceeded to search for restaurants in the area that we could go to for breakfast that next morning. He gave us his recommendations, gave us the opening times, and printed out directions for each of them or us. I would stay here again!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank qcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed 1 night as a stopover to South Carolina. The staff was pleasant, and checkin and checkout was trouble free. I paid $67 for a Friday night. Booked a regular room with (2) queen beds, and they upgraded me to a 2-room suite at no charge, without even asking. Beds were comfortable, room clean. I would stay here again without hesitation. Only negative was that breakfast was not included, and the prices for breakfast were very high. Bonus: Wireless Internet in the rooms was free

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeV101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

Got a great AAA rate ($55 per nite) for a long cherry blossom wkend in Washington DC. I thought this was the Courtyard across from the Metro but it was not - go to the Courtyard Fairfax Dunn Loring for walking distance to the Metro - because at this Fairfax Fair Oaks Courtyard you have to drive to the Vienna Metro stop. We arrived disappointed we were at the wrong hotel but it worked out okay because the Metro transit workers are extremely helpful and can tell you exactly what to do about getting in and around the capital. Anyway this hotel was clean and modern and the room was comfortable. The housekeepers were friendly. We left five bucks tip every morning and they did a good job cleaning. The front desk was efficient but not at all friendly. Our room was right next to the back exit door and the back staircase and a short distance from the pool. The housekeeping supply closet was opposite our room. It was very noisy expecially in the morning when the housekeepers arrive for work. On the first morning, they knocked on our door before 9am. We are late sleepers but it got us up. On the next two mornings, the noise and talking they made got us up. Stay here to avoid paying big Washington hotel rates - it's close to the Fair Oaks Mall where there is a Cheescake Factory, a Brazilian BBQ and a Japanese buffet restaurant - or try the Courtyard at Dunn Loring. I'm going to try that on my next trip to the capital area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank contheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

The rooms are small for the price, the walls are made of rice paper and you can hear everything going on in the hallway and the room next to you. At 9:00 AM, the fire alarm went off and went on for 15 minutes. While trying to conduct business in the lobby in the morning, they run the vacuum, employees are yelling at each other across the lobby. VERY NOISY and DISRUPTIVE.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WirelessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
#6 of 21 in Fairfax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks

Property: Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Memorial Hwy, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030-6023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Fairfax hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Courtyard
Fairfax Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing