We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worked well for us...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Worked well for us...”
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed 1 night as a stopover to South Carolina. The staff was pleasant, and checkin and checkout was trouble free. I paid $67 for a Friday night. Booked a regular room with (2) queen beds, and they upgraded me to a 2-room suite at no charge, without even asking. Beds were comfortable, room clean. I would stay here again without hesitation. Only negative was that breakfast was not included, and the prices for breakfast were very high. Bonus: Wireless Internet in the rooms was free

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeV101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    92
    22
    6
    9
See reviews for
67
41
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Got a great AAA rate ($55 per nite) for a long cherry blossom wkend in Washington DC. I thought this was the Courtyard across from the Metro but it was not - go to the Courtyard Fairfax Dunn Loring for walking distance to the Metro - because at this Fairfax Fair Oaks Courtyard you have to drive to the Vienna Metro stop. We arrived disappointed we were at the wrong hotel but it worked out okay because the Metro transit workers are extremely helpful and can tell you exactly what to do about getting in and around the capital. Anyway this hotel was clean and modern and the room was comfortable. The housekeepers were friendly. We left five bucks tip every morning and they did a good job cleaning. The front desk was efficient but not at all friendly. Our room was right next to the back exit door and the back staircase and a short distance from the pool. The housekeeping supply closet was opposite our room. It was very noisy expecially in the morning when the housekeepers arrive for work. On the first morning, they knocked on our door before 9am. We are late sleepers but it got us up. On the next two mornings, the noise and talking they made got us up. Stay here to avoid paying big Washington hotel rates - it's close to the Fair Oaks Mall where there is a Cheescake Factory, a Brazilian BBQ and a Japanese buffet restaurant - or try the Courtyard at Dunn Loring. I'm going to try that on my next trip to the capital area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank contheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

The rooms are small for the price, the walls are made of rice paper and you can hear everything going on in the hallway and the room next to you. At 9:00 AM, the fire alarm went off and went on for 15 minutes. While trying to conduct business in the lobby in the morning, they run the vacuum, employees are yelling at each other across the lobby. VERY NOISY and DISRUPTIVE.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WirelessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2009

This Marriott was one of the best Marriott Hotel that I, a Gold Member, have experienced. First - They had a great Weekend Rate. Second - The Check-In was fast, efficient and we were given a room on the Contierge Floor. Third - The Central Foyer was beautiful and spacious, with a water fountain and marble floors.The room was good size, although the bathroom was small. The pool and hot tub were very relaxing. The breakfast buffets were on par with most Marriotts. The serve was excellent and friendly. The Business Center was free with 2 computers and printers. The location was great as it was next to the Fair Oaks Mall. I highly recommend this Marriott Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollisCross621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2008

The exterior of the hotel was very average, so as I parked I thought to myself "you get what you pay for" as I had gotten the AAA rate of $67. Well was I wrong! You walk in to a beautiful lobby. It was so large, it was like going to a mall....the front desk were mini-counters located next to this mini-store where you could buy snacks, drinks, etc. Across was this counter where you could order sandwiches etc to bring to your room....there was of couse a sitting area there in case you wanted to be served. It smelled delicious. The business center was also large, 6 computers, printer, plenty of work space.

I have got to believe this has recently been redone because everything looked so new. The room was nicely decorated, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker. Good shower pressure. Quiet A/C. Bed was good, probably not top of the line, but comfortable. Everything was very clean.

The only things I didn't care for was that I was on the ground floor so my sliding glass door faced the courtyard. As a woman traveling alone, I usually don't like that, but I did feel safe here and stayed put. Also usually when you are laying in bed, the tv is at the foot of the bed, the hotel had the tv on the side.

MAJOR RECOMMENDATION -- across from the hotel on the other side of Lee Jackson Hwy is a shopping center. Hidden near the Kmart, behind the McDonalds is a small non-descript storefront called The Deli. Oh my goodness, fresh bread, fresh veggies, fresh cold cuts! Even the cannolis are hand-made!! You can eat there but I just brought it back to the hotel. It also has shelves of grocery items which I bought a bunch of things you can't find in Texas. I bought pastries for the morning since the hotel did not have complimentary breakfast.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — exterior wasn't impressive
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wizofwoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

We had a group of 30+ families staying at this hotel for a highschool sporting event. Our group rate was $69 per night. We were all amazed at the quality and style of the hotel for that price. The teens had a blast in the pool and hot tub, and sitting around the outdoor court yard fire pit. The rooms were spacious, clean and well decorated. Ours had a balcony overlooking the court yard and fire pit. The king bed was very comfortable and the hotel quiet at night. The only complaint was that breakfast did not start until 7:00 am and we had to leave for crew race at 6:45, however, there was free coffee/hot drinks in the lobby.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank smm1779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2008

I stayed here for ten days. The hotel is clean, nice and I would stay here again. However, the internet in my room was not working for five days and it was annoying that I had to make several calls per day to have it fixed. It took them five days before they figured out that the modem!!! was defect...There is a bus stop right outside the hotel and thats about it, twice I thought I would take the bus and it never turned up after 40 min waiting. In the end I took the car to the metro station and that cost me another extra $8. Also the bus is only running every 30 minutes if it turns up...Fairfax is not an exciting place to stay, there is really nothing to see.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hebamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
116 reviews
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks

Property: Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Fairfax hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Courtyard
Fairfax Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing