We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short Business trip to Fairfax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Grove, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“short Business trip to Fairfax”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My work took me to Fairfax for a short two day work trip. The ride from Dulles International airport was not excessive; however it is easy to see that traffic can be a major problem in the greater DC area. The check-in staff was efficient and courteous. My plan did not include breakfast and I did not use the spa, work-out room or pool so I cannot comment on the worth of quality of these. The location is convenient as a Giant grocery store is adjacent. For those not familiar with the Kroger branded Giant grocery chain the stores cover the full range of grocery and pharmacy needs. The hotel property was very well maintained and the trees, grass and shrubs were nearly perfect in all cases. The main building is brick and blends into the area and theme/style of the adjacent buildings very well. The parking lot is well paved and appears to have good drainage. There are a few restaurants in the area, notably Wendy’s which is only a five minute walk to the south. There are also an abundance of gasoline filling stations which make it easy to procure gasoline for a car should you have driven one to the property.

Room Tip: sits off the busy Jackson-Lee road so all rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28BH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    91
    22
    6
    9
See reviews for
66
41
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The good - The room was clean, plenty of towels, good TV. The not so good - The bed needs to be replaced. 'Twas a king size and both of us awoke with back aches. No complimentary continental breakfast. Yes, they do have a breakfast but it's a bit pricey for what you get. We might consider this again vbut we'll check around first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edd R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomba4u
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We are a family of five and stayed here one night over this past Memorial Day weekend for a family trip to DC. Saturday morning we drove from NY to DC area and parked for the day in downtown area ($12). After a long day we drove the 25-30 minutes to this hotel for our one night stay.

Check in was fine without any issues. They accommodated our request to have our room adjoined with the friends we were traveling with. The hotel is clean and quite. For the price point ($129) my opinion it is well worth the drive out of DC for a nice rest before another fun filled day in DC. Especially with the kids. We would have spent double the money to stay in the DC area. There were no parking fees or internet fees here either which was nice.

We booked a king suite which has a pull out couch in one room and a king in a separate room. The little guy (six) slept in the bed with us and the two older ones (9 and 11) slept on the pull out. The mattresses on the King was very comfortable. Normally my back would bother me after a night on these hotel mattresses.

Friends of ours had the same sleeping arrangement without the separate room for $20 less. (Their room adjoined ours which was also nice as the kids all killed each other in one room and we hung out living area of the suite.).

As stated above for the price point well worth the stay and drive back and forth to DC. Would stay here again for our next family trip to DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pomba4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha NE
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nice stay, friendly staff.
Room was standard king bed room which we got for $109 through hotels.com. There's a grocery store next door and a nice shopping plaza close by. We didn't have any problems except that one of our keys stopped working but that was not a big deal. We ate breakfast at the cafe in the morning. $20 for 2 breakfast sandwiches and two drinks and they come with fresh fruit cups. They close at 10am, which caught some late comers off guard. Check out is at noon. It seems like each room has a balcony which was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsabellaMDOmahaNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I was on business trip staying Sunday through Thursday. The hotel was immaculate, the staff was superior in customer service and satisfaction from sunrise to midnight! The breakfast bar and service was a great way to start the day as well as dinner dining. Conveniently located in walking distance to the Fair Oaks mall which offers excellent dining experiences as well. If you must be home away from home, the staff of this hotel insures a elegant, pleasant and memorable stay. The service warranted a personal thank you to management on the way out....

Room Tip: As a courtyard, I was on the interior side which was great. One side of motel faces busy Rt. 50 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topofthemtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dacula, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is a great location for a family trip to Washington, DC. We stayed here both trips we made to DC and found it easy to access I-66 for a quick 25-minute drive into the city. It was easy to find our way back to the hotel too. Plus, being right next door to Giant Foods made it easy to pick up snacks and a light breakfast if needed.

Jennifer at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. We had a long drive, and I requested extra towels, shampoo, etc. after we got to our room. She was quick to respond and help us out.

Also, Jesus in Engineering, unfortunately, had to be called to our room a couple of times because of plumbing issues. He performed his job quickly and with a smile. I know that is difficult job, but he does it well. Maintenance issues are just part of operating a hotel, but it's the quick response by staff members like Jesus that keeps the problem from getting out of hand.

Ciara (did I spell that right?) in the Bistro was so nice. When I came down on Sunday to get some coffee, she saw that the free coffee was empty. So she just took it upon herself to pour me a cup of Starbucks from the Bistro and send me on my way. Great customer service!

We'll definitely return to this property because of these three people!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville,TN
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We have been staying here for almost 10 years beginning when our son started at GMU. We've tried most of the hotels in Fairfax but for now, this is our choice. Nice building and landscaping. There is a Metro Bus stop in front and a CUE bus (to Metro) on the nearest side street. Clean and comfortable. Nice, safe business park behind to walk in the morning. Food is available in the lobby area. Supermarket right next door. Shopping mall and restaurants nearby. We love it. NOTE: You need to stay Th, Fr, Sat, Sun or Th, Fr, Sat to get the best rate. Any other time, WoW, you get blasted with the business rate and it's not cheap.

Room Tip: Third floor inside facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IMTrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
1.2 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks

Property: Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Fairfax hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Courtyard
Fairfax Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing