We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worst hospitality” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst hospitality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed in Marriott Courtyard in Fairfax, VA for 3 weeks and found it a curse to hospitality industry since there are no exhaust fans in toilets. The front desk dont want to listen to you and behave like sheriffs of the hotel. Hotel has no shuttle service at all, breakfast serving to guests is upto the front desk if they like to add you or drop you in the morning breakfast list.Even Laundry is not free. Whenever i approached the front desk i found it empty and after awaiting if they show up they take the customer as a pain to them. I encountered everyone of them and no bodys approach was different from other towards guests. i think the the upper level management must visit it atleast once and put things right there otherwise the disgrace of the guests visting there will go forever. On checking out day i was told by the front desk that hold up amount from my credit card will be released in 10 days as i have to call my bank regarding the release of my hold up amount. I dont know who to blame of this staff attitude.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALIBILAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    83
    21
    6
    7
See reviews for
59
39
17
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneseo, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed 3 nights here for a college visit to George Mason as well as visiting family/friends in DC area as well as sight seeing. Was a quick 10 minutes to Mason (primary reason for visit). We could have stayed closer to DC to be closer to our friends/relatives, but the cost/room increased exponentially as well as parking fees, etc. We were never more than a 25-35 minute drive to Arlington Cemetery, National Mall, or our other destinations, even with the ridiculous traffic closer to DC. It was also short 3 or so miles to metro stop to avoid the traffic. Location was excellent for us, rooms were very nice, clean, comfortable, quiet, and spacious, the Bistro was very good for our meals there, and the staff was excellent. Many other food choices/shopping close by as well. The only ding was the two teenagers with us for college trip wanted to swim to relax/cool off and the pool had very limited hours (5pm-10pm) open that didn't coincide with our plans. Otherwise an excellent choice and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Disneyadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was the perfect Courtyard for the price and location to DC. The rail system was about 3 miles away and driving into DC was about 20 minutes. We took the rail one day and decided for the price it was better to drive into DC over the course of 3 days. The room was clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable. There was plenty of restaurants and shops near the hotel. The site had free parking and a restaurant. The only weird thing for us was seeing a lifeguard on duty for such a small pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzowuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaghticoke, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Spent one night here before moving to another property (a night was added to my trip at the last minute, and I got this property for a very low rate on an opaque bidding website). Impeccably clean, free parking, encounters with staff very friendly, good location.

The one-star reduction? For one major user-unfriendliness that affected others though not me. As others noted here, the pool is not open during the day on weekdays, which I haven't seen in any other property. Think about it: you book this hotel for a summer DC-area stay with kids. It's a down day, so you get the kids all ready to swim, only to find the door locked and have the clerk say "opens at 5." (I saw this happen with a family before I checked out.) These unusual hours are only noted deep within the Marriott website, and not at all on third-party sites, which say things like "features an indoor pool with jacuzzi and a well-equipped gym." While I recognize that Courtyards are primarily business hotels, this one is not only in the DC area with its many tourists, but near a major university (George Mason), which also would draw visitors with families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deejub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I spent 2 nights in this hotel while on a business trip. The room was very spacious and clean.The room consisted of a comfortable king size bed, a sitting area with a sofa and desk, and a 40-42" Flat panel high def TV. The air condition was so quiet that I didn't realize that it was running. The hotel had an indoor pool and workout room which were nice. The onsite restaurant was nice, but somewhat expensive. I had a breakfast sandwich and coffee and the tab was around $10.00. Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. Overall, I was very pleased.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our stay was very nice. We had the king bed suite and it was awesome. The room was clean and had everything we needed. It had a mini-refrigerator and microwave.We thought a sink in the bar area would have been nice. The bathtub and toilet were a bit tight when the door was closed. They even Paul Mitchell products.We were told the whirlpool was broken but we noticed that it was working with people in it. The sign was still posted. We loved the comfortable bed. There was ample lighting in the rooms.

It's a nice hotel near I-66. There are no Metro stations near by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wel0ve2vacati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nothing to really complain about. "If" I had to say anything it would be that I wish breakfast was included.

The staff was exceptional, the room was fantastic, the location was great, and I would stay here again without hesitation in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoogFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
1.2 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn University Center
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks

Property: Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Memorial Hwy, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030-6023
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Fairfax hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Courtyard
Fairfax Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing