We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 night stay visit to Washington DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save 20%
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Yucaipa, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“4 night stay visit to Washington DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This was the perfect Courtyard for the price and location to DC. The rail system was about 3 miles away and driving into DC was about 20 minutes. We took the rail one day and decided for the price it was better to drive into DC over the course of 3 days. The room was clean and the bed and pillows were comfortable. There was plenty of restaurants and shops near the hotel. The site had free parking and a restaurant. The only weird thing for us was seeing a lifeguard on duty for such a small pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzowuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Schaghticoke, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Spent one night here before moving to another property (a night was added to my trip at the last minute, and I got this property for a very low rate on an opaque bidding website). Impeccably clean, free parking, encounters with staff very friendly, good location.

The one-star reduction? For one major user-unfriendliness that affected others though not me. As others noted here, the pool is not open during the day on weekdays, which I haven't seen in any other property. Think about it: you book this hotel for a summer DC-area stay with kids. It's a down day, so you get the kids all ready to swim, only to find the door locked and have the clerk say "opens at 5." (I saw this happen with a family before I checked out.) These unusual hours are only noted deep within the Marriott website, and not at all on third-party sites, which say things like "features an indoor pool with jacuzzi and a well-equipped gym." While I recognize that Courtyards are primarily business hotels, this one is not only in the DC area with its many tourists, but near a major university (George Mason), which also would draw visitors with families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deejub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I spent 2 nights in this hotel while on a business trip. The room was very spacious and clean.The room consisted of a comfortable king size bed, a sitting area with a sofa and desk, and a 40-42" Flat panel high def TV. The air condition was so quiet that I didn't realize that it was running. The hotel had an indoor pool and workout room which were nice. The onsite restaurant was nice, but somewhat expensive. I had a breakfast sandwich and coffee and the tab was around $10.00. Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance. Overall, I was very pleased.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our stay was very nice. We had the king bed suite and it was awesome. The room was clean and had everything we needed. It had a mini-refrigerator and microwave.We thought a sink in the bar area would have been nice. The bathtub and toilet were a bit tight when the door was closed. They even Paul Mitchell products.We were told the whirlpool was broken but we noticed that it was working with people in it. The sign was still posted. We loved the comfortable bed. There was ample lighting in the rooms.

It's a nice hotel near I-66. There are no Metro stations near by.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wel0ve2vacati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Nothing to really complain about. "If" I had to say anything it would be that I wish breakfast was included.

The staff was exceptional, the room was fantastic, the location was great, and I would stay here again without hesitation in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CoogFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel is in a convenient location (close to restaurants, shops & George Mason U) and offered us a very nice stay. It looked like the lobby had recently been updated, with bright furniture and a touchscreen flat panel TV mounted to the wall. We were very pleased with the service at the bistro (offering Starbucks, food and a bar!) and although it was a bit chilly outside, we still took the opportunity to sit out by the fire pit.
Our room was comfortable and clean - both very important details!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slm528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Nice updated lobby...very friendly staff at front desk and in bistro. Adult hot breakfast is a dollar or two pricey but kids breakfast pricing is a good value. We were just passing through but Fairfax looked great and if we were returning for a DC visit we would consider this hotel closely.

One note of caution...North side of building parking lot was quite dark and suggestion by staff to use a side entrance to unload bags ended up not feeling very safe. Suggest you unload at front doors and use a luggage cart if arriving after dark.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the front lobby for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.2 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks

Address: 11220 Lee Jackson Highway, Rte. 50, Fairfax, VA 22030
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#9 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks is located near Fair Oaks Shopping Center and is less than 20 miles from George Mason University and Washington, DC. It features a state-of-the-art lobby, featuring flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and The Bistro which provides our Fairfax hotel guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fairfax Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Courtyard Fairfax Fair Oaks
Fairfax Courtyard
Fairfax Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing