We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bailiwick Inn(Fairfax)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rodeway Inn(Fairfax)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveler rating
285
149
43
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
149
43
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfairfax citydolce vitaroom was cleancomplimentary breakfastwe've stayedthe breakfast areastay there againgeorge mason universitywaffle makergreat place to staywafflesconvenient locationthe hotel staffvery nice hotelplenty of parkingeasy accessdc area
Filter
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 498 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I rated this hotel "Poor" only because of the A/C units. This is a nice hotel with a good staff and location. However, the room air conditioners are too loud in this Hampton Inn and many others like it. Hilton has purchased and installed units that engage with a din that rivals Mac Trucks. The units have no way to allow the guest to enable the "always on" fan. The fan is only on when the unit responds to a call from the thermostat. When the unit compressor engages, there is a loud guttural grunt and bang. The result is a loud engagement sequence that sounds like a truck starting in your room. At 2.30 AM on the 8th cycle of on-off, the sound is more like a jet fighter. Good luck sleeping here or other Hampton Inns until they replace these units. You might as well try sleeping at the pump of a truck stop or the flight line of nearest jet fighter base.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfowler24, General Manager at Hampton Inn Fairfax City, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, I am sorry that it was not a positive one. We will take a look at the unit associated with your stay and make the necessary repair. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future and allow us the opportunity to provide you an excellent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

almost a self-serve hotel. staff very unprofessional furniture falling apart, ... if you just want clean sheets and towels I guess this would make the cut. desk chair is not functional for desk -- so if you are planning to do any work it is uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank darlenem726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfowler24, General Manager at Hampton Inn Fairfax City, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing great service and an excellent product. I am sorry that we did not meet that goal with respect to your recent stay. We would love another chance at earning your business. If business or pleasure returns you to the Fairfax area please contact me directly and I will personally see to your reservation needs. Jim Fowler, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

the hotel is not horrible, but is not up to hampton inn standards in my opinion. the halls and rooms have a smell to them. I arrived late (midnight) and there were several guests ( men ) outside the entrance doors smoking, which felt awkward, especially when i had to bang on the door to have the hotel attendant /front desk guy release the lock.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Voorheeskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfowler24, General Manager at Hampton Inn Fairfax City, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

I am sorry you did not have a great experience at our Hampton Inn. We pride ourselves on providing an outstanding product and excellent service to all of our guests. The front desk agent should be on alert and available to all of our guests, even after hours. After hours we do utilize an intercom/buzzer system for arriving guests and folks that otherwise do not have their room key ready for entry. There is a sign to indicate how to gain access to the building after hours, but perhaps we should consider adding a larger one. I was unable to notice a smell in the halls or room where you stayed, but I received your comments days after your departure so the smell you noticed must have dissipated. Perhaps the smell was caused by the guests that were gathered outside in the designated smoking area upon your arrival. Again, I am sorry that your stay was not a pleasant one for you and we would love the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you that The Hampton Inn-Fairfax City is a great place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hampton Inn beds are unusually comfortable. rooms well laid out. this one was "crisp"clean. shower head
very good but would have liked more pressure. hope there wasn't a water saver used. restaurants nearby.
breakfast was neat ,clean and friendly but have had more variety in other Hamptons as well as more space.
would stay again if in area.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stay was normal, rooms were clean, but the breakfast was subpar. The items were barely warm, but the attendant quickly took care of it when we asked them about it. Front desk personal was especially helpful in navigating the area. Location is kind of weird.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews