We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Fairfax City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here so we could cab over to a concert at the Patriot Center. Looks like they recently did a renovation - everything was very clean and upkept. Breakfast was well stocked. Room was nice, with a couch to relax on too. Great place to eat next door - Dolce Vita. Would definitely stay here again and also recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Recruiting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    117
    33
    9
    3
See reviews for
138
69
29
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed here several times and every stay was very pleasant. The hotel is near GMU and Tyson's Corner. The staff is nice and friendly. The rooms are spacious and clean and the breakfast is very good with a big variety.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We just returned from a Thanksgiving week vacation and stayed part of the time in Fairfax. This hotel is not too far off the 495 freeway and close to many frequently travelled highways. The room was nice - clean, but couldn't control the heat. It was pretty stuffy and the air conditioning unit wouldn't work if the outside air was colder than the inside. The fact that it's November makes it obvious that the outside air would be colder. However, this was the only drawback. Staff is friendly, room was very clean and the bed was pretty comfortable. We particularly appreciate that all of the bedding (not just the sheets) are freshly cleaned. Breakfast was plentiful and hot. Nothing fancy, but gets you going. This hotel is worth the stay if you're trying to economize and want something not too far from DC, but away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaishouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

For the second time in 6 months, my husband and i were forced to leave our home because of power outages. In June it was the Derecho and in October the eastern storm. My calls to Hampton Inn, Fairfax City produced immediate help for scheduling a room with a kind, friendly and efficient staff,. In October we were lucky to find Rid U. who reserved a room with a soothing, gracious manner. I thought the price was high(it was). He explained that corporate set the rates and he did his best to discount in the best manner possible. When we arrived, Anne S was with him. She too was the soul of helpfulness and perfect customer service. She called for take away at the Anita's restaurant next door and when I went to pick it up, Anne's price quote saved me a mistaken over charge by the waitress. Sandy who is morning chef and breakfast coordinator is wonderful. The menu could use a dress-up (not Sandy's fault-she serves what corporate orders), but most of it is edible. The plastic utensils make us unhappy, but we see the reasoning for them. Maybe a discreet choice for older visitors?
Sandy handles it all with wit, grace and style. We thank her in so many ways.
The warm feel of a European style hotel with caring staff is a guarantee for visitors to return. The one thing that drove me crazy was the noise in the room of the heating generator. Whenever we turned the heat up or on it roared like an engine coming into town. The faucets in the bathroom were both running hot water at one point. One finally cleared and the other remained warm. Bottled water in the rooms would be nice. Valet staff to help with baggage and rolling carts is non existent at night. One person was on in the morning. We understand the no frills aspect, but late night help is important. A price point adjustment might be in order.

Room Tip: Simply suggest the type of room and floor level you want. The staff will comply.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Myself, my husband, and my in-laws stayed one night while we were in town for a funeral. Check in was smooth and quick. Room was large, clean, modern, and well-appointed. The bedding was clean and luxuriously cozy. Breakfast was a diverse buffet of options- not fancy but something for everyone. My only complaint in a minor one- the a/c in our room (220) was not working quite right and the fan wouldn't stay on. Other than that, and a bit of a hot water shortage in the morning, everything was great.

Also, check out the Italian place next door. They're great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WVaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Clean, well managed Hampton Inn. Rates are more than reasonable for DC area. Internet was faster than most, health center was clean and equipment reasonable for a Hampton. Traffic around area is a nightmare, so use side street to cross main road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MauiMarkCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff here are wonderful and a match for any 5-star hotel. They are friendly and accomodating. We spoke with the front desk a couple of times about some maintenance issues and each time got a knock on the door within 10 min. In truth, because of those minor issues, this should probably be a 4.5 rating but unfortunately, 4 or 5 are my choices.

Pros: Good breakfast with some hot items, clean and comfortable rooms, friendly staff, lots of stuff nearby, fast Internet, well-maintained fitness room

Cons: Traffic around here is usually bad, even on weekends. No cold water in our room, only warm/hot water would come out. This only seems to be a problem at night, perhaps from too much hot water on tap. Also, the mini-fridge in our room acted more like a freezer. After realizing it was freezing everything, we turned it down to 1-2 which fixed the problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank consolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
#6 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Fairfax City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Fairfax City

Property: Hampton Inn Fairfax City
Address: 10860 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030-4328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#4 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Fairfax City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Fairfax City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Fairfax City Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing