We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Breakfast Lady on Earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at this Hampton Inn prior to a ridiculously early flight out of DCA. And I do mean ridiculously early. With security time calculated in, we probably should have just slept at the airport.

Check in was a breeze, and the counter staff were very nice. They had suggestions for dinner, as we were exhausted and didn't want to go out. Their suggestions for delivery were right on.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, but where this hotel really stands out is with breakfast. Not that they offer a breakfast, because that is standard with Hampton Inns. And not even really with the quality of breakfast; which is decent, but nothing to cry over. No - it is the breakfast lady herself.

We had to leave for the airport at 4:00 in the morning. We did not leave on time, because that is a ridiculous hour to leave, and when we rolled through the lobby at 4:30 to check out, we asked if we could grab some of the rolls that were already out to eat on the run. Not only did the Breakfast Lady agree, she brought everything else out - two hours early! - to make sure that our kids had a good breakfast in them before we left for our flight.

That is a good Breakfast Lady. I think she deserves the Best Breakfast Lady on Earth title for that. And my kids, who travel frequently and are well acquainted with the horrors of the breakfast food available at the Air Tran gates of DCA, were everlastingly grateful to her. So were we. And if we ever have to fly out of DCA again (hopefully at a decent hour), we will stay at this Hampton Inn the night before.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Fairfax City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 449 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights. The staff at this location is very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff rocks! Our suite was spotless and our bed linens were changed daily. The suite included a small refrigerator and microwave, couch and two chairs, and an in-room safe. They serve a hot breakfast every morning but also include fresh fruit, yogurt and an assortment of muffins, bread, etc. Sandy, we hope you enjoyed your trip to Florida and had a great visit with your son!
The location was wonderful and we had many restaurant options to choose from. Should we ever make a return trip to D.C. or surrounding area we will certainly stay here again.
G & T Miller

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squirrelcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed overnight to attend an event at George Mason.. will stay there again. Updated, friendly staff, good breakfast, neat and clean. Comfy bed, relatively quiet, friendly staff. Sink is in same room as toilet/shower. Beds seem more like full size compared to queen. No pool. Liked the mouthwash and body soap toiletries.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravelwith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here 3 days for a friends surgery & I can tell you that it is a prime location if you need to be in the middle of Fairfax City propper. I lived in NOVA for 6 years, so I'm very familiar with it.

I wouldn't stay here for an extended trip because the rooms are not set up for it, but they are very comfortable, clean, spacious for the type of hotel & but for 1 incident with the night audit person (which was handled perfectly in the morning & resulted in a refund for that night) the staff is awesome! The breakfast had an incredible amount of choices & they keep it open until 10AM!

I've never had a problem at a Hampton Inn before that & would happily stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Insomniatica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel was very clean, staff was very courteous.
Room was clean, comfortable beds,
the breakfast was nice, area of food kept clean, hot foods were hot.
They were replenished as needed.
A nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed while attending NCACS (cake show) and the rooms were very clean, staff very knowledgable of the area and eager to may our stay a great one! The breakfast area was large and the food selection was great!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gc-sidelines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed at this Hampton Inn while visiting the Tysons Corner Center Mall and Washington DC. Hotel was very clean and check in was very smooth. This hotel is located a within a very short driving distance to the metro station (which we used for going into DC) and all the other places we wanted to go. Breakfast was great too! I always choose Hampton Inns. They are always clean with nice accommodations. Will be visiting here again in May when I take my daughters to a concert at the Patriot Center. Which is also only minutes away!

Room Tip: We choose the king size bed with study that had the pull out sofa bed. My girls liked having the sof...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Fairfax
Best Western Fairfax
#9 of 21 in Fairfax
441 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
Hyatt Regency Fairfax
#6 of 21 in Fairfax
137 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Fairfax City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Fairfax City

Address: 10860 Lee Highway, Fairfax, VA 22030-4328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Fairfax
#4 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range: $109 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Fairfax City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Fairfax City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Fairfax City Hotel Fairfax
Fairfax Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing