We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Staff, Great Hotel, Bad Public Transport” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency FairFax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency FairFax
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff, Great Hotel, Bad Public Transport”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Fairfax as it was very close to where we were having a training course. I found that the staff in the Hyatt were extremely friendly and helpful, and especially those working on the front desk. The room I had was on the 10th floor and was nice and quiet so I was well able to recover from my long haul flight. The room was clean and was nice and comfortable.

It's close to Dulles as well (taxi was $30) but not so close to any public transport. A Taxi to and from the Metro was costing around the $25 mark each way so that was an added expense that we didn't foresee in our trip planning.

There is a shuttle service available but it need to be booked early and we managed to use the service for a very local trip to a restaurant but it was not available for us in the mornings when we needed to get to the metro.

As a base for my training course in Fair Lakes I though it was excellent but as a center or a base for tourists wanting to get about without any rental car or transport of their own it is not ideal. There was also a lack of any visitor information leaflets in the lobby (metro maps, city maps, amenities, attractions etc..) A few of these would certainly have helped me choose a tour as the city of DC is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The higher the room the quieter or so it seemed when i stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    169
    104
    49
    31
See reviews for
148
90
37
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This Hyatt is located outside of DC, but still close enough to be convenient (and certainly a great value for the price). Rooms are spacious enough for our family of 4 (2 younger kids), and have good amenities (bath, flat screen TV). Plenty of parking in the parking lot as well.

It is located close to a retail mall in case you may need supplies during your trip.

It is also located within 10 or 15 minutes from the Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center NASA Smithsonian museum, which has a great exhibition of planes, space shuttle, U-2, etc. The boys in the family loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EricY_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We chose the Hyatt Fairfax as the site for a 50th High School Reunion. The venue was perfect for our needs: hospitality suite, reception, dinner/dance, farewell breakfast. The guest rooms are roomy, mostly suites and clean. The food was great! The hotel's Nova Bar and Restaurant were perfect and a nice gathering place for participants. The hotel is located within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and shopping. In addition, the hotel will provide transportation to Vienna metro and short distances from the hotel. Special thanks to Theresa King and James Lao for making it happen!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency FairFax, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Kitty H,

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fairfax at Fair Lakes. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your 50th high school reunion! Theresa and James will be recognized for the excellent service you experienced during your visit to our hotel. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to the area!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently spent the weekend at the Hyatt Fair Lakes taking advantage of their cheap summertime rates. The hotel is a little bit older than most Hyatt Hotels, the furniture in the rooms is quite worn as is the carpeting in the hallways but aside from that the quality is very good, with the usual comfort that you come to expect with a Hyatt hotel. My only critique was that despite asking for help with our luggage, no bellman ever showed up and we had to unload our quite substantial amount of luggage ourselves. The walls are rather thin, I could hear the person next door to me coughing so if you need 'dead quiet' this might be an issue, for us though it was no big deal. The breakfast is very good and well worth the value. We ended up booking 3 more nights there later in the week at the back end of our stay in the Fairfax area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators and noise which on the weekends is considerable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danale1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcallen.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Traveled for the first time to Virginia was not used to traveling alone but Rebecca and the staff at Hyatt made me feel at home. The room was very nice and comfortable; sitting area with a rotating flat screen and a queen bed on the other side with a separate area with a desk for catching up with my work. The staff member Emmanuel (hope I got your name right) was very nice and polite when I would go order my dinner/snack from the market which was very convenient. The hotel is close to the Vienna Metro (2 miles) and with the shuttle service provided by the hotel made it possible to go and visit the National Mall. I definitely will be back but next time with the kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vrosina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency FairFax, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi vrosina,

Thank you for going out of your way to share with us your feedback from your most recent stay with us at the Hyatt Fairfax at Fair lakes. We are so happy to hear your experience in Virginia was comfortable and relaxing, and we are so excited our staff made you feel so welcome as if you were at home. Rebecca and Emmanuel will surely be recognized for their above and beyond customer service. We hope you will join us again for your next visit to Virginia!

Safe Travels,

Drew D.- Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Since this is mainly a business location, many families also utilize the facility for weddings, family reunions, etc. Very young (toddlers) children are left to run around in halls unsupervised between rooms (apparently family members are separated) very late at night disturbing business-people. This is not Disney so I was quite angry at these families and their lack of consideration for other guests. These type of guests should be limited to a "family" floor and travelling family members should be in rooms next to each other with the internal lockout door, to preclude this type of disturbance to the business guests

However, overall great service from all the staff. Rebecca and Andrew did a really great job, especially when the complementary ride service (not Hyatt affiliated) did not show up for a ride to the Metro.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great hotel in quiet oasis in fairfax. Exceptional service from Rebecca and the rest of the staff. The breakfast team helped me with fruit for my diet. Great stay over. Your people are awesome! Great sleeping bed and amenities as well as fitness room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WEBullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency FairFax, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Your kind words are our biggest compliment! I am so happy to hear that you found the service to be top notch. I will be sure Rebecca and the rest of our staff is acknowledged for their excellent service. I am please we were able to provide an alternative option for your diet. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Fairfax at Fair Lakes. I look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
1.8 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fair Lakes Fairfax
4.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency FairFax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency FairFax

Property: Hyatt Regency FairFax
Address: 12777 Fair Lakes Cir, Fairfax, VA 22033-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency FairFax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hyatt Fairfax at Fair Lakes, the ideal hotel designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure travelers. Conveniently located off I-66 in the Fair Lakes development, this AAA Three Diamond hotel places you within minutes of premier shopping malls, major corporate offices, both Dulles and Reagan National airports, George Mason Universtity and the landmark sights of Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency FairFax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Fair Lakes Hotel Fairfax
Hyatt Hotel Fairfax
Hyatt Hotel Fair Lakes
Hyatt Fairfax
Fairfax Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing