We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Good, but 10 Bucks a day for Wifi?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency FairFax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency FairFax
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very Good, but 10 Bucks a day for Wifi?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Don't get me wrong, the Hyatt Fair Lakes is a very nice hotel, with an attentive staff and nice amenities, but I still don't get the logic of charging for Wifi. I know...this is something I should get over, but why do so many of the higher priced hotels still insist on charging you a daily fee for Wifi? Are we all supposed to feel superior because we're allowed to purchase something that is routinely included for free in the budget and mid-priced hotels?

Oh, and the even though the rooms had flat screen TVs in them, the channels were broadcast in standard definition, not HD.

Maybe I'm just asking for too much....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    170
    105
    49
    31
See reviews for
148
90
37
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 10 days. I checked in smoothly, and the front desk gave me a nice room with a wonderful view. Overall the hotel is nice and clean and most importantly, the staff are very friendly.
The hotel is in a walking distance from fairlakes shopping center. Walmart, Target and bestbuy are in a walking distance. Also, they have a shuttle that can take you around the area and to the metro too.
My stay was wonderful; thanks to front desk agent, Adrean, who's attitude is wonderful, and who went the extra mile to make my stay comfortable.
I'd suggest to travelers to stay here and I will differently come back!

Room Tip: nice staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had our family reunion at the site. We had a wonderful time. The staff was excellent, especially Theresa King. The front office staff and were very accommodating. If you're in the Virginia or DC area consider staying at this hotel. We look forward to staying here for our reunion in 2014.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency FairFax, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Helena H:

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fair Lakes. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the services our hotel provided for your family reunion. Theresa will be recognized for the excellent service she provided. Hyatt takes great pride with this. We look forward to welcoming your family back next year!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilonia, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have bee staying in the Fairfax area in hotels for about 60% of my time over the past two years. I have stayed at three hotels in the Fairfax area and this one is by far the best hotel I have found. The rooms are well thought out and very comfortable. The staff of the hotel, restaurant, and bar are always congenial and wanting to help. Theresa King is always looking to make peoples stay more comfortable and Margaret, Brian, Elida, and Farheen make your time at the bar fun and relaxing! I would and do recommend this hotel to all of my friedns and business associates traveling to this area. Over the time I have stayed there, I have only had minor issues and on each occasion, the hotel staff were more than willing to do what they could to address them.

Room Tip: The corner suites provide a great panoramic view on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 892JamesR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency FairFax, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi 892JamesR!

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback about the recent stays at our Hyatt Fair Lakes. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We're glad to have provided you one of the best hotels in the area. Our employees will be recognized for the excellent & welcoming customer service. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the area!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGaheysville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I would recommend the Hyatt Fairfax to anyone traveling in the Northern Virginia, DC area. I have been staying at this hotel for many years, and the exceptional service has not went without notice. As a traveler, who stays in multiple brands, and over 100 hotel nights per year, no hotel has shown more hospitality and professionalism. Hyatt Fairfax has an exceptionally well trained and professional staff from the restaurant staff to the front desk.

In particular I have worked with Senior Sales Manager Theresa King, over the years. I consider Theresa much more than an exceptional employee at Hyatt, which she is, but a good friend. Her wonderful attitude, and dedication to show her customers the best experience exemplifies customer service. She has been much of the reason that I have created a strong loyalty to the Hyatt Brand.

As I mentioned above, because of the amount I travel for business I stay in most of the big name brands. I rank the Hyatt Brand for above the others, and the Hyatt Fairfax the best of the best for business travel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency FairFax, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Wayne S!

Thank you, once again, for taking a moment to share thoughts & feedback about your returning stays at our Hyatt Fair Lakes. We appreciate you returning as our guest, and your referral is greatly appreciated. Our employees will be recognized for the fantastic customer service provided during your stay. Hyatt takes great pride with hearing these types of comments from our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to continue to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in early April 2013. The rooms are a good value, just not an excellent value. Although some parts of the hotel are supposed to be re-habbed already, my room wasn't one of them. The overall quality is good and the value was good as well. Like some other reviews, paying $15/day for Premium Wireless is a bit steep, compared to so many other hotel chains. The food is a bit pricey. $8 for a cold sandwich is a bit high. There are plenty of other choices off the hotel property. I was staying for a business meeting and the breakfast and lunch that was included with the conference room rental was actually very, very good. I don't know about the costs of those meals, just the quality. Recommended for business meetings and families looking for a centralized location for DC events and venues.

Room Tip: There is a large scale construction project going on next door. It looks like it will be running for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff was so friendly. Really the best I've had at a hotel.

We were traveling with a baby and they brought us a crib/pack and play.

Everyone said hi and were just really nice.

The location was great - many places to eat and shop right in the same area. There is a whole foods close too.

I would definitely stay here again.

The room was nice too. Not quite as big as we had thought it to be from the pictures. The pillows were very soft. Everything was very clean.

The breakfast buffet was excellent. With the room it was about $15.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency FairFax, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Kristin M:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Fair Lakes. Your comments are greatly appreciated with regards to our employees & the excellent service provided during your visit. The Executive Chef of our NoVa Grill will be recognized for the excellent breakfast you enjoyed. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the area.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
1.8 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fair Lakes Fairfax
4.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency FairFax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency FairFax

Property: Hyatt Regency FairFax
Address: 12777 Fair Lakes Cir, Fairfax, VA 22033-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency FairFax 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind at Hyatt Fairfax at Fair Lakes, the ideal hotel designed to meet the needs of both business and leisure travelers. Conveniently located off I-66 in the Fair Lakes development, this AAA Three Diamond hotel places you within minutes of premier shopping malls, major corporate offices, both Dulles and Reagan National airports, George Mason Universtity and the landmark sights of Washington DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency FairFax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Fair Lakes Hotel Fairfax
Hyatt Hotel Fairfax
Hyatt Hotel Fair Lakes
Hyatt Fairfax
Fairfax Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing