We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Labor Day weekend stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Fair Lakes Fairfax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Fair Lakes Fairfax
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Labor Day weekend stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have no idea why this place gets negative reviews. I was in building B, room 339. It was a studio, and there was more than enough room. The bed was comfortable, the swivel tv was great for both the bed area and the living room.There was plenty of water pressure in the shower and the water stayed warm. There was no noise from the road, although it was a holiday. There may be some rooms that get construction noise. Breakfast was plentiful, more than enough variety for all ages. We had dinner one night at Joe's Crab Shack. It's in the same parking lot. Food was fine, like it is at all locations. The pool closed today, Labor Day. Seems silly, since it doesn't automatically turn cold on Sept.1st. The pool area was clean and the water was nice. The hot tub was clean, and felt great after a long day of sightseeing. We were in the area for a concert at the Jiffy Lube Live . There are many places closer to the venue, but the price was great! We would have had to pay at least $109 a night to be closer, but paid $76 a night with a 15 minute ride down 66. Well worth the money saved! Also, there is a shopping center within a one minute drive. There's a Walmart, Food Lion, Target, BJ's(or was it Sam's Club?), Cost Plus, Home Goods, Modell's DSW, you name it! There's also a Starbucks even closer to the hotel, and a McDonald's around the corner. There's no shortage of something for everyone. I would definitely stay here again and have no trouble suggesting this as a good place to stay. I usually post pictures, but the room was true to the professional pictures, which is very rare!

Room Tip: Ask, in advance, about a room away from possible construction noise. We didn't hear any, nor any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denisezucc1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    42
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
65
18
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Big and comfy 2 room apt, fast and free wifi, good breakfast, free food during the week!!! Nice pool and great location, close to shops, bars, highways etc. Spending almost a month here after returning from overseas and this place is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkyMarkDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel this weekend and found everything as expected. Most importantly, the room was clean. The front desk staff was very helpful in getting us a room close to the parking area and on the "quiet" side of the building. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Look for special weekend rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irving F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

We've been at this Residence Inn for three weeks now because of a flood at our house resulting in a large insurance claim restoration job. The staff here are the best in the business -- from front desk to housekeeping to the folks running the food service. The facility is very clean -- not posh, but very clean and well-appointed. We have a two-bedroom suite with a living room/kitchen/dining room combo. There are three flat-screen HD tvs, 2 bathrooms, 2 queen beds and a sofa bed.

They serve breakfast daily including a waffle iron, fresh fruit, mini muffins, bread and English muffins, scrambled eggs (not real eggs though, I don't think), sausage or thin-sliced Canadian bacon, and either a potato/onion/pepper mix or something called potato pancakes. They also have a variety of cereals. Breakfast is fine for a day or two, but gets repetitive if you've been there a while.

They also serve a dinner meal on Tues, Wed and Thurs. It's usually a protein of some sort (meatloaf, chicken, etc), some starches and a garden salad with rolls and then cake for dessert. It's not fancy, but its pretty good, especially if you don't want to go out. If you do venture out, there's a Logan's Road House, Joe's Crab Shack and McDonalds on the road into the hotel and a couple of smaller restaurants nearby within walking distance. If you have a car there are a multitude of restaurants and three major shopping centers nearby. You're also right on Interstate 66 which makes commuting into downtown Washington easy.

One suggestion: You're at an intersection of two busy roads with a lot of traffic. While it's muffled inside, you can still hear it and if that bothers you (especially sirens) ask for a room which doesn't butt up against the roads or the construction. Pool front should be better and the pool closes at 8, so you don't have to worry about loud swimmers late.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from any side which fronts one of the two major roadways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButchKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed for a weekend, this hotel was a great choice. For the money, it had as many or more free amenities as other hotels that were more expensive. The rooms were clean, and had anything you need for a short or extended stay. Full refrigerator, sink, dishwasher, great flat screen TV, sofa with pull out bed, wifi, stovetop. The free breakfast was great and well organized, make sure to take advantage. Location was good, right next to restaurants and very close to to gas stations, target, wall mart, etc. I will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griz16057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is rather small and quite near fair lakes, the best part is it has kitchen, housekeeping was excellent, I will definitely come back and stay here.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

This property is renovated and looks nice. However, pretty tile and fresh carpeting do not make up for the lack of service/amenities. Stayed in a 2-bed suite. Beds in each suite make it hard to move around. Bathrooms are spacious enough. Very clean and well kept. However, the amenities you pay for at the Residence Inn (b-fast, dinner, sport court) are woefully declining. This RI only serves dinner Tues - Thurs. Dinner is reheated frozen or canned items. What happened to the "home cooked" meals and cookouts on the grill? No beer or wine served at this RI as well. Sport Court was falling apart which was a bummer for my family on a long, extended stay.

Room Tip: Avoid construction areas! Ask about where you room is located before you check-in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keykgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency FairFax
Hyatt Regency FairFax
#7 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Fair Lakes Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Fair Lakes Fairfax

Property: Residence Inn Fair Lakes Fairfax
Address: 12815 Fair Lakes Parkway, Gps Address: 12700 Shoppes Lane, Fairfax, Fairfax, VA 22033
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Fair Lakes Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a prime location in Northern Virginia's High Tech Corridor in suburban Washington, D.C., The Residence Inn Fair Lakes Fairfax hotel allows guests to enjoy the comforts of home. Guests can stretch out and relax in the extended stay Fairfax hotel in full suites complete with separate sleeping, living and dining areas. Kitchens, living rooms with pullout sofa beds and work desks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn Fair Lakes Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Fair Lakes Fairfax Hotel Fairfax
Residence Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing