We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I spent three weeks at this hotel with my wife and kids. Having read some rather negative or ambiguous comments on Trip Advisor before arriving I was rather worried whether I selected a proper place to stay with family. Shortly after we got there I realized my pick was a perfect one.
For a very reasonable cost you get a nice room with a kitchenette. The rooms are newly repaired and equipped. The hotel outdoor pool is also perfect, especially if there is a very hot weather with temperatures over 100 F.
The staff were very good, taking care and responsive. Do you need a cab? It is there in a few minutes. A great advantage is a Harry Teether store nearby at a walking distance from the hotel.
The pool might have opened earlier than at 2 p.m. on weekdays. I understand it was due the working hours of safeguards, but it would be nice especially in July when temperatures are really extremely high. What I really did not like was that some guests did not respect a smoke free area at the pool and were lazy to take a few more steps to the designated smoking area.
I would advice to make breakfast more varied or to give it a different name. On some days nothing but coffee was served. In this respect other comparable hotels provide a wider variety of food.
Another thing deserving attention despite the progress made is how the kitchenette is equipped. When we arrived we had to ask for more plates, forks, pots or mugs and glasses. It should be better equipped as a standard.
The last advice - if the hotel provides washers and dryers it should also always have enough quarters for guests so they don't have to go to get change elsewhere.
But all in all we had a very nice stay there, we have beautiful memories and we will return. I can recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeSouches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia K, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear DeSouches,

It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you.

Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest.

A few weeks after completing our renovations of the hotel, we launched a new Grab 'n Go breakfast concept. We now offer two brands of coffee, tea, granola bars, muffins, breakfast bars, fresh whole fruit and hot oatmeal. This new concept was recently added for guests such as yourself, who may normally prepare a meal in the room, but may want a quick bite or cup of coffee as they head out the door for the day.

I will also look into possibly making some adjustments to the pool hours for next year and , I along with the Hotel Manager will definitely make sure that quarters are always available at the front desk.

Once again, on behalf of the team at Extended Stay America and myself thank you for your kind comments and feedback. We look forward to seeing you and your family again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Best,
Sofia Kehayias
Area Operations Manager
Fairfax-Fair Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    15
    12
    2
    9
See reviews for
22
5
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Since day 1 when I arrived in the Washington, DC region as part of a corporate relo, the staff at the Extended Stay at Fair Ridge Drive made me feel welcome. Asan, the front desk clerk, ensured I had a fair rate, a nice quiet, clean room, and provided me with all the pertinent commuting details. (The bus to the metro is across the street!) The location is conveniently located near malls, grocery stores, metro, etc. I would certainly return as well as recommend to others.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the third floor, northeast side to minimize road traffic and HVAC noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FitzTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia K, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Fitztravelers,

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your most recent stay. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment.

Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. Asan and the rest of the team at ESA Fairfax understands that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.

Best,
Sofia Kehayias
Area Operations Manager
Fairfax-Fair Oaks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My Stay At Extended Stay America was one of the best stays I have ever expieranced and will return again The staff and the hotel itsself was wonderful and will be recomended to anyone I come in contact with that will be in that area

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Extended Stay Washington, D.C. - Fairfax. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks Mall
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax - Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax

Property: Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax
Address: 3997 Fair Ridge Drive, Fairfax, VA 22033 (Formerly Extended Stay Deluxe - Fair Oaks)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe - Fair Oaks Hotel Fairfax
Extended Stay Fairfax
Fairfax Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing