We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Vintage HIE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Arrived the day before the POTUS inauguration. The receptionist was extremely friendly (even at 11pm at check-in). I stayed in a standard king-size room. The hotel is definitely dated. My room was straight out of the 80's. I had to kneel down just to get the top of my head wet in the shower. It had some strange twisting handle for the shower controls. I have never seen anything like that in all my stays at Intercontinental Hotels. The carpet in the room needed to be replaced as well. You get the standard HIE breakfast; so nothing special here. The one great thing though is the proximity to the Vienna/Fairfax Metro line into DC. Only about 5 minutes away. There are some really good restaurants within a ten minute drive as well. It served the purpose of needing a room to stay, but I think upon return I will try to look for something a little nicer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EyeLoveFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us. We greatly appreciate that. We were replacing guest room carpets that week but had to stop the work due to the busy inauguration weekend and now the work is complete and guest rooms have new carpets. We are happy to hear that you received great service during your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    55
    24
    8
    11
See reviews for
51
26
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

We were just looking for an affordable place to sleep after an 18 hour plane trip. We were immediately surprised by the excellent service - Lawrence allowed us to check in early and have breakfast. Rooms are comfortable, and the hotel is in a good location - close to shops and chain restaurants. Recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We are honored to hear that you had an excellent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax. Sharing your comments and experience is very important to us because your satisfaction is our reward.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This seemed like an older facility when arriving, but the rooms have been redone perfectly! The furniture, decor and bedding was very nice! There isn't one thing that I would change about the hotel. It was very clean and everything seemed new.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExpTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax and for sharing your comments and experience with us. We hope to be of service to you again when and if your travel plans bring you back into our area.

Best Regards,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

This HIE is an older property, but it is clean and offers everything that is expected at HIE brand. Water pressure is good and instant hot water. Breakfast is okay and the front desk person at check-in (Ruth) was very polite and friendly. Overall, our stay was comfortable and the hotel met my expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blue24060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I would like to thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax and also for sharing your comments and experience with us. We are please to know that your stay was to your satisfaction and we are honored to be at your service. We hope to be at your service again in the future.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Upon entering the lobby, was greeted by the desk clerk, Ruth, who made me feel immediately comfortable. She processed my registration and explained how to get to my room, breakfast services in the morning, parking options, and a multitude of services offered at the inn. For the length of my stay, Ruth remembered my name whenever we had the occasion to meet. Will stay at the inn again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
It was a pleasure serving you, and we want you to know that we appreciate your business. Knowing that you had an excellent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax is a reward to all of us. We look forward to be at your service again in the future.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent one night here on Oct 5 to visit our son at George Mason University. Very convenient location a couple of miles from campus. They were doing some work on the entrance when we arrived but it didn't interfere with our stay at all.
Hotel staff person was very friendly and welcoming. We were initially provided a room that was being worked on---door was propped open and a ladder was outside the door. Staff person promptly met us there and provided us with new room keys. No inconvenience at all.
Room was more than adequate. Flat screen TV, nice bureau and wardrobe, a mini frig hidden in the bureau. Sink/vanity. outside of the bathroom which is easier for getting ready in the morning. Bathroom was very small though. The ceiling tiles in the tub area looked old and mildewy or something but otherwise bathroom was clean.
I like the beds at HI Express. No comforters. Feels cleaner and everyone slept well.
Minor, minor complaints: wish they had Splenda and flavored creamers for coffee in the morning.
Definitely would stay here again if the price were right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
You had a choice and you chose us so thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us. It is a reward to us to know that your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax was to your satisfaction. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Front desk clerk was friendly and nice. Room had a some updated features, but it was overall a beat-up, run-down place. Wouldn't offer the pillows on the bed to a guest or my children. Fitness facility was down to nothing. Have to be better options in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with our facility. I would like you to know that we have made updates to our facilities since your last visit and are continuing with our updating. Despite of the concerns you've mentioned we are still happy to know that you were satisfied with the service provided by our Team. We hope that you'd give us another try to be at your service again in the future.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
BEST WESTERN Fairfax
#8 of 21 in Fairfax
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard

Property: Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard
Address: 10327 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030-2249 (Formerly Wellesley Inn Fairfax)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, located near downtown Fairfax off Route 50, just 12 miles from Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD) and 13 miles from Washington DC. With an ideal location just 2.5 miles to the Vienna - GMU Metro Station, this Fairfax, VA hotel has everything you need. Business travelers to the area choose us because we're close to area corporations, such as CDM Smith, BAE Systems, Northrop Grumman and AT&T. We offer a 24-hour Business Center featuring free Internet access, copy & print services and a personal computer, so you can stay in touch all the time. Leisure travelers love our hotel's location near Washington, DC because it offers easy access to the capital's best attractions, including Washington Monument, Pentagon, White House, and the Smithsonian Institution's Museums. If you choose to tour closer to the hotel, we are the closest hotel to George Mason University and the Patriot Center. You can visit the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum near Dulles Airport and book our package that includes tickets or enjoy shopping at Tysons Corner. When you choose to stay at our hotel's property near Washington, DC, you will experience a wealth of free amenities, including parking, a hot breakfast bar, an on-site Fitness Center and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Book your room at this Fairfax, VA hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard Hotel Fairfax
Holiday Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing