We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bailiwick Inn(Fairfax)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Fairfax)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
59
59
26
11
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
59
26
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred lobstercinnamon rollsfront deskroom was cleanenjoyed staying heretv channelswashing machinehot breakfastmetro stationnice areafirst floorwonderful staybusiness centercerealelevatorhvacrefrigerator
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 167 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Upon entering the lobby, was greeted by the desk clerk, Ruth, who made me feel immediately comfortable. She processed my registration and explained how to get to my room, breakfast services in the morning, parking options, and a multitude of services offered at the inn. For the length of my stay, Ruth remembered my name whenever we had the occasion to meet. Will stay at the inn again when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

It was a pleasure serving you, and we want you to know that we appreciate your business. Knowing that you had an excellent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax is a reward to all of us. We look forward to be at your service again in the future.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent one night here on Oct 5 to visit our son at George Mason University. Very convenient location a couple of miles from campus. They were doing some work on the entrance when we arrived but it didn't interfere with our stay at all.
Hotel staff person was very friendly and welcoming. We were initially provided a room that was being worked on---door was propped open and a ladder was outside the door. Staff person promptly met us there and provided us with new room keys. No inconvenience at all.
Room was more than adequate. Flat screen TV, nice bureau and wardrobe, a mini frig hidden in the bureau. Sink/vanity. outside of the bathroom which is easier for getting ready in the morning. Bathroom was very small though. The ceiling tiles in the tub area looked old and mildewy or something but otherwise bathroom was clean.
I like the beds at HI Express. No comforters. Feels cleaner and everyone slept well.
Minor, minor complaints: wish they had Splenda and flavored creamers for coffee in the morning.
Definitely would stay here again if the price were right.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

You had a choice and you chose us so thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us. It is a reward to us to know that your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax was to your satisfaction. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Front desk clerk was friendly and nice. Room had a some updated features, but it was overall a beat-up, run-down place. Wouldn't offer the pillows on the bed to a guest or my children. Fitness facility was down to nothing. Have to be better options in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with our facility. I would like you to know that we have made updates to our facilities since your last visit and are continuing with our updating. Despite of the concerns you've mentioned we are still happy to know that you were satisfied with the service provided by our Team. We hope that you'd give us another try to be at your service again in the future.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

PROPERTY: This is an older property which has had some updates over time. I stayed in room 419 a king room. This is an odd mix of good and bad, overall it rates barely average
.
ROOM: The room was smaller than many in this class. I’m sure it’s due to the age of the property. The décor was fresh and upscale for an HIE with nice accessory items. The room had its own, window mounted A/C unit which worked hard to cool the room and was noisy at high speeds. A 32” flat screen and refrigerator but no microwave. The tile bathroom was small but clean.

BEDDING: The bed was clean and comfortable. The pillows were cheap and lumpy.

WORK AREA: The work area was OK with a decent size table. The work chair was thinly padded and cheap. Only ½ of an outlet to power electronics! WOW what a miss. Lighting was good.

RATING: Overall I would give the property a 75/100 and 70/100 for value. I would not likely stay here again as there are many other choices with more amenities for the money.

PRAISE: location, upscale décor for HIE, clean
COMPLAINTS: older property, smaller rooms, smoky smell, no pool or whirlpool

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YepBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us. We greatly appreciate it.

Best Regards,
Vanessa McManus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We booked this hotel because of its location to DC, metro, and Trip Advisor ratings. Glad we did. The room was large, clean, and nicely upgraded. We loved the extra sink outside the bathroom. The room also included several mirrors and had numerous extra outlets in the base of each lamp which was great for all of us to recharge our phones. The only problems we had were getting a roll-away bed. We requested one and only got it after four calls over 3 days. The other problem we had was getting service for a clogged toilet, they finally they sent a plunger and we had to unclog it ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clogtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax and for sharing your comments and experience with us. Guests like you are a pleasure and we were delighted to be of your service. We hope to be at your service again in the future.

Best Regards,
Vanessa McManus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews