We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbertsville, NY
1 review
“Pleasant Experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Upon entering the lobby, was greeted by the desk clerk, Ruth, who made me feel immediately comfortable. She processed my registration and explained how to get to my room, breakfast services in the morning, parking options, and a multitude of services offered at the inn. For the length of my stay, Ruth remembered my name whenever we had the occasion to meet. Will stay at the inn again when in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
It was a pleasure serving you, and we want you to know that we appreciate your business. Knowing that you had an excellent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax is a reward to all of us. We look forward to be at your service again in the future.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    56
    25
    9
    11
See reviews for
53
28
13
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Spent one night here on Oct 5 to visit our son at George Mason University. Very convenient location a couple of miles from campus. They were doing some work on the entrance when we arrived but it didn't interfere with our stay at all.
Hotel staff person was very friendly and welcoming. We were initially provided a room that was being worked on---door was propped open and a ladder was outside the door. Staff person promptly met us there and provided us with new room keys. No inconvenience at all.
Room was more than adequate. Flat screen TV, nice bureau and wardrobe, a mini frig hidden in the bureau. Sink/vanity. outside of the bathroom which is easier for getting ready in the morning. Bathroom was very small though. The ceiling tiles in the tub area looked old and mildewy or something but otherwise bathroom was clean.
I like the beds at HI Express. No comforters. Feels cleaner and everyone slept well.
Minor, minor complaints: wish they had Splenda and flavored creamers for coffee in the morning.
Definitely would stay here again if the price were right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
You had a choice and you chose us so thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. Thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us. It is a reward to us to know that your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax was to your satisfaction. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Front desk clerk was friendly and nice. Room had a some updated features, but it was overall a beat-up, run-down place. Wouldn't offer the pillows on the bed to a guest or my children. Fitness facility was down to nothing. Have to be better options in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us. I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with our facility. I would like you to know that we have made updates to our facilities since your last visit and are continuing with our updating. Despite of the concerns you've mentioned we are still happy to know that you were satisfied with the service provided by our Team. We hope that you'd give us another try to be at your service again in the future.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

PROPERTY: This is an older property which has had some updates over time. I stayed in room 419 a king room. This is an odd mix of good and bad, overall it rates barely average
.
ROOM: The room was smaller than many in this class. I’m sure it’s due to the age of the property. The décor was fresh and upscale for an HIE with nice accessory items. The room had its own, window mounted A/C unit which worked hard to cool the room and was noisy at high speeds. A 32” flat screen and refrigerator but no microwave. The tile bathroom was small but clean.

BEDDING: The bed was clean and comfortable. The pillows were cheap and lumpy.

WORK AREA: The work area was OK with a decent size table. The work chair was thinly padded and cheap. Only ½ of an outlet to power electronics! WOW what a miss. Lighting was good.

RATING: Overall I would give the property a 75/100 and 70/100 for value. I would not likely stay here again as there are many other choices with more amenities for the money.

PRAISE: location, upscale décor for HIE, clean
COMPLAINTS: older property, smaller rooms, smoky smell, no pool or whirlpool

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YepBeenThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and experience with us. We greatly appreciate it.

Best Regards,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We booked this hotel because of its location to DC, metro, and Trip Advisor ratings. Glad we did. The room was large, clean, and nicely upgraded. We loved the extra sink outside the bathroom. The room also included several mirrors and had numerous extra outlets in the base of each lamp which was great for all of us to recharge our phones. The only problems we had were getting a roll-away bed. We requested one and only got it after four calls over 3 days. The other problem we had was getting service for a clogged toilet, they finally they sent a plunger and we had to unclog it ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clogtchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax and for sharing your comments and experience with us. Guests like you are a pleasure and we were delighted to be of your service. We hope to be at your service again in the future.

Best Regards,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Neede hotel for 5 days. The room (212) was very small--actually seemed to be an afterthought next to the elevator. The bathroom was OK but no tub. Staff very friendly. Breakfast typical for hotels

Room Tip: stay away from room with ..12
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tucson_AZAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear Tucson_AZAdventurer,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. I’m glad you found the cleanliness and service of our hotel acceptable. I am sorry the room condition was not up to par to your expectation. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this hotel about three or four times over the last twelve months. The only bad stay was the first one when we were put in a room with a leaking heater and wet carpet. The front desk took care of it the very next day and we've had good stays since. The last two times we were upgraded to a much larger room, which made the stay that much better. Jay, the hotel shuttle bus driver, is the best part of our stays. He's a great guy and always makes us feel welcome. I know a lot of folks come through the hotel but he treats us as though we're returning family. A DC tour bus also comes by the hotel each morning so you can easily take a trip into DC and see the sights. The restaurants are the only things about the hotel that I can't recommend, but that's not a problem since the hotel shuttle bus will drop you off a any of several nearby restaurants that serve great food. We look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: This is a good choice. We've gotten good weekend rates for the DC area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiefairfax, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments.

Thank you,
Vanessa McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fairfax hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Fairfax
Best Western Fairfax
#9 of 21 in Fairfax
428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Fairfax City
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Fairfax City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Fairfax
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairfax Fair Oaks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard

Property: Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard
Address: 10327 Fairfax Blvd, Fairfax, VA 22030-2249 (Formerly Wellesley Inn Fairfax)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fairfax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard, located near downtown Fairfax off Route 50, just 12 miles from Washington Dulles International Airport (IAD) and 13 miles from Washington DC. With an ideal location just 2.5 miles to the Vienna - GMU Metro Station, this Fairfax, VA hotel has everything you need. Business travelers to the area choose us because we're close to area corporations, such as CDM Smith, BAE Systems, Northrop Grumman and AT&T. We offer a 24-hour Business Center featuring free Internet access, copy & print services and a personal computer, so you can stay in touch all the time. Leisure travelers love our hotel's location near Washington, DC because it offers easy access to the capital's best attractions, including Washington Monument, Pentagon, White House, and the Smithsonian Institution's Museums. If you choose to tour closer to the hotel, we are the closest hotel to George Mason University and the Patriot Center. You can visit the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum near Dulles Airport and book our package that includes tickets or enjoy shopping at Tysons Corner. When you choose to stay at our hotel's property near Washington, DC, you will experience a wealth of free amenities, including parking, a hot breakfast bar, an on-site Fitness Center and Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. Book your room at this Fairfax, VA hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Fairfax - Arlington Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Fairfax-Arlington Boulevard Hotel Fairfax
Holiday Inn Fairfax
Fairfax Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing