We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Usually real good”
Review of FirstWatch

FirstWatch
Ranked #36 of 419 Restaurants in Fairfax
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: First Watch specializes in delicious creations freshly-prepared to order. Their fresh, award-winning Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch dishes are made using only the best ingredients without the use of heat lamps or deep fryers. The best part is their creative menu features traditional favorites like omelets, pancakes, salads and sandwiches.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Usually real good”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Breakfast and lunch---fantastic pancakes---egg dishes---sandwiches and salads; pleasant servers.
towards closing some dishes get a little sloppy. Always come back--

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tom f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at FirstWatch, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for all your visits! We will share your feedback about our presentation on occasion and sincerely apologize. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    39
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Busy But They Handle It Well”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

I've been a couple times on the weekends for breakfast and there is always a wait of about 20 minutes. I can assure you that it is worth the wait. The menu is health conscious but they have something for everyone, even picky eaters. The house coffee is really good, the oatmeal is really good, the siesta key cocktail is really good, and my dining companions say all their food is really good. Also worth noting, the servers are nice and they are very good at getting you in and out quickly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at FirstWatch, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for coming by for breakfast on the weekends! We are happy our tasty food, healthy menu and attentive staff always impress you. We hope to see you again soon!

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
24073
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Loved it! BLT Eggs Benedict & breakfast scrambler was wonderful!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Happily surprised! Got right in around 8:45am on a Sunday morning. OJ was great as was the hot tea selection and my husband's ice coffee. The meal came quickly and looked amazing. Bacon was crispy (just how I like it.) Hollandaise was buttery but not too heavy. All ingredients tasted & looked fresh. Great place. Will go here again next time we're in town!

Helpful?
Thank candicegaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at FirstWatch, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are very happy you and your husband had a delicious and pleasant breakfast experience. We hope to see you the next time you're in town!

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The food is great! The water? Ewww.”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

If you are a first timer, plan on waiting in line. This place has a following, and for good reason.
I've eaten here probably 10 times over the last two years. I've never ordered the same thing twice, due to the interesting choices on the menu.
The healthy choices they offer still have great flavor. If you don't mind pushing a few more calories away, try one of the omelets. I think I've tried three, and all were fantastic.
The pancakes, while being slightly pricey, are well worth it, and big enough for share between three or four people. Instead of ordering one, order three and take two home. They're even good the next day microwaved(and cheaper when you buy more).
The coffee is so-so, nothing to rave about. OJ, about the same, but pricey for a large glass.

I've never ordered any of the "lunch" items, but my teenage son has, and he has always enjoyed them.

Now, on to the water. I live in Fairfax City, so they get their water from the same source I do. I don't know what is going on with their water, but it is not in any way refreshing. The taste is just awful! Oddly enough, it doesn't have any funky odor to it, but it tastes like toilet water smells.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaHotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at FirstWatch, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
VirginiaHotelguy - Thank you for all your visits over the years! We are thrilled you enjoy every item you have tried off our menu. Great tip on the pancakes too! It is upsetting to hear this is your impression of all our beverages and we will look into all your comments immediately. We appreciate all your feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast/Brunch”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I discovered First Watch last year, but always ignored it because it looks like an old people's home on the outside. My friend made me try it and now we all go regularly because the food is amazing. They use high quality, fresh ingredients and have many lighter fare options. The pancakes and hash dishes are always wonderful!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank whodat134134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cari T, Guest Relations Manager at FirstWatch, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
whodat134134 - Thank you for giving us a try! We are so happy our high quality, fresh and made-to-order breakfast, brunch and lunch items have made a you a regular now. We look forward to your next visit!

Cari, First Watch Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FirstWatch also viewed

 

Been to FirstWatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing