We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing reason to come back”
Review of FirstWatch

FirstWatch
Ranked #36 of 428 Restaurants in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: First Watch specializes in delicious creations freshly-prepared to order. Their fresh, award-winning Breakfast, Brunch and Lunch dishes are made using only the best ingredients without the use of heat lamps or deep fryers. The best part is their creative menu features traditional favorites like omelets, pancakes, salads and sandwiches.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Went for breakfast and got dry,tasteless omelets and home fries that had been under a heat lamp for hours.And all this for a high price!Perhaps it was just a bad day since the reviews are generally good.

Thank 51Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at FirstWatch, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

51Bob - We are very sorry this is the first experience you had with us. We pride ourselves on serving fresh, made-to-order meals with only the best ingredients. The visit you describe here does not meet our high standards and we will address your concerns.

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 62 of 87 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

Tucked into center of the Fair City (strip) mall sits FirstWatch, the best breakfast restaurant in Fairfax, and maybe the best I've been to anywhere if I don't count an all-you-can eat buffet at a hotel in Copenhagen, Denmark this past summer. FirstWatch is just so much more convenient...and surely a lot healthier!

When it opened a few years back I wondered how a breakfast and lunch only place could possibly survive. Then I had to deal with the crowds, especially on Sunday mornings, even on some weekdays, so I guess they're doing fine. I hope so. The food is great, the servers are friendly, and the ambiance is bright and cheery. If I wasn't worried about my caloric intake (and my wallet, though the prices are reasonable enough) I could eat here every day. My cardiologist would have a fit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stratford64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at FirstWatch, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you, Stratford64! It is an honor to be one of your favorite breakfast places of all time! While we understand you can't come see us every day, we do hope to see you again very soon!

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The healthy menu at First Watch includes a nice selection of breakfast and lunch options including a variety of pancakes, omelets, salads, soups, sandwiches and a delicious warm quinoa dish. The décor is pleasant and the design is well planned - there is room between the tables and unlike so many restaurants, it's possible to actually carry on a conversation at your table. Service is friendly and fast.
It's a popular place so you may have to wait for a table but it's worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at FirstWatch, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Terri A - Thank you for coming in! We are very happy our fresh, healthy menu and friendly service have left you with such a wonderful impression. Hope to see you again soon!

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is the place to go for a variety of excellent breakfast and lunch dishes! Daily and seasonal specialties keep the variety up. On a recent visit the quinoa and squash was terrific, and there was plenty to take home for a second meal!

It's hard to stay away from the cranberry orange pancakes, but there are lots of great alternatives!

Staff is pleasant, helpful, and service is appropriately quick. Go early as it can get crowded! Also, crowds build quickly on weekends. Not open for dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Soars37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica R, Guest Relations Manager at FirstWatch, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you! Wonderful to hear how much you enjoy our extensive breakfast, brunch and lunch menu. We are very happy you like many of our filling specials and signature favorites, like our pancakes. We hope to see you again soon!

Jessica, First Watch Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This place is crazy busy on the weekends, but when you think about it, there are few places in this part of Fairfax County that offer a varied breakfast menu. Here's the secret, but this is between you and me... get here by 8:30 a.m. and you won't have to worry about a wait. But even if you're not an early riser, the service is very efficient, so the crowd turns over quickly. Some of the smart things that this restaurant does to speed up service are carafes of coffee and water on the table so no waiting for refills. For breakfast, I prefer the healthy options such as eggbeater omelets, wraps, etc. but you can't go wrong with whatever you get. A+ for service and A for food. Well done, First Watch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelingfun101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FirstWatch also viewed

 

Been to FirstWatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing