We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Gun Lovers Dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NRA National Firearms Museum

NRA National Firearms Museum
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small museum that highlights the long history of firearms.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Gun Lovers Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

History, Movie buffs, mobsters or cops - you name it, they have it and its free. An excellent firearms museaum, well presented in a nice atmosphere. A bit off the beaten path and maybe a few too many political messages for some but well worth the visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spiegs1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    75
    15
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mclean VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome place for gun enthusiats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have been here multiple times. This museum is a nice showcase of the history of guns. Racks and racks of guns from olden times to recent models all arranged in a spectacular showcase of world armament.

Must see for any gun enthusiast. I am strictly against violence of any kind but still enjoy going here...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PVamsiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great History for Free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Firearms have shaped our history and the National Firearms Museum is a great place to learn. They have a great collection of firearms and a guarantee that you will learn something new. The best part is that it is FREE. Check out the the NRA Cafe after you visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeandLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent, World-Class Collection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Whatever your 2nd amendment views, or opinion of the NRA leadership, if you have any interest in firearms and firearm history this is a must see. The collection is amazingly comprehensive and includes some historically significant pieces. You could easily spend 3 or 4 hours here, especially if, like me, you are a "completionist" and just have to read all the arcane facts on each exhibit. And you cannot beat the price!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kost1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place to See the History of Firearms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Went here with my children several years back on a whim. I was totally surprised at the amount of history in this place. They have all kinds of weapons used by all kinds of people. We spent most of the morning here and had a great time. The kids especially loved it. Easy to get to and plenty of parking

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sseppe1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NRA National Firearms Museum also viewed

 

Been to NRA National Firearms Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing