We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NRA National Firearms Museum was Huge!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NRA National Firearms Museum

NRA National Firearms Museum
Ranked #1 of 34 things to do in Fairfax
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Small museum that highlights the long history of firearms.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Highland, Il.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“NRA National Firearms Museum was Huge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

We really didn't expect such an immense display of guns and firepower! The displays were done very well and all the info was very informative to even an amateur shooter or hobbyist. We couldn't believe it when we thought we were about done, then another wing would be just around the corner! Very good job and kudos to those who designed this exhibit! Also, great items in the gift shop!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pennypat00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    80
    17
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gun Smoke”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our knowledge of the Civil War was limited until we started visiting some of the sites and museums. This was detailed
with many items to see.

Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Always Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

You do not have to be a gun nut to like this place. The collection is massive and instructional to say the least.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Divecop3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great History of Guns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

You will see historic guns, inventive guns, and a history of the evolution of guns. They have guns owned by famous people. They have guns from famous movies. Fascinating to stroll through all the displays. Give you self about 2 hours, more if you really start reading all the information provided at the displays.

Helpful?
Thank TravelerMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place if you like guns...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I am not really into guns, but went with my hubby and was impressed by this museum. There are a lot of guns to see-naturally-but what really surprised me was the artistic detail that went into many of them. They also have what is supposed to be the first gun brought into the country on the Mayflower. It was a lot more interesting that I thought it would be. If you are a gun lover, then plan on spending a lot of time there as there is so much to see and read, almost too much for one visit. The museum and parking are free.

PS-this is a great place to visit for us ladies...not many women there, so no line in the restroom!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NRA National Firearms Museum also viewed

 

Been to NRA National Firearms Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing