We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the real deal”
Review of Exmore Diner

Exmore Diner
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Exmore
Cuisines: American, Diner
Description: This is a staple for residents of the Lower Eastern Shore and a must visit for those driving through!
Restaurant details
Description: This is a staple for residents of the Lower Eastern Shore and a must visit for those driving through!
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the real deal”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just what I'd heard .. a true old fashioned diner (NOT a retro diner meant to remind you of the real thing) This is the real thing! Good service, food was good diner food(I had liver and onions with mashed potatoes and collard greens and my wife had a salad with grilled chicken..both were yummy)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BEEL966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    55
    31
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“May I have some food with my flies”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

So...this was my second visit to the Exmore Diner. I didn't want to return after my first visit, but my cousin insisted we try it again. Last year we sat in a booth and were swatting away flies the entire meal...the same thing happened on our second visit. There were a few less flies but still.

The food was okay. I ordered a grilled cheese and split it with one of my party who ordered a BLT so I was able to try both and both sandwiches were good.

The atmosphere is uncomfortable...people were staring at us as soon as we got out of the car...I couldn't figure out if it was because we're people of color or because we're from out of town...either way, I felt very unwelcomed. The diner is small so we initally sat at the counter and moved to a booth when another party was finished.

Overall, I am not impressed!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank blkreign30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“What's the attraction?”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We heard about this place on the radio last year so checked it out. The flies were very annoying but food was ok. I really didn't plan to return. However, one member of my group wanted to give it second chance and other one had never been, so we returned for lunch this year. This time, there was no fish available! Its on the shore and features a fish sandwish or fish fillets (flounder and trout) options on the menu. I ended up with crab cake, which was alright. My sister said her BLT was good. However, I see no need to ever return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bk_essence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tables are always sticky”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

While locals rave about the food, I found it just ok. It is very heavy on carbs for side dishes. Seating is extremely limited and every time we have been there it isn't truly clean. You know how things feel greasy?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Missmycows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simple, home-cooked food in nostalgic setting”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nothing fancy about the place or the food. We were greeted cheerfully and ordered breakfast of western omelet with sharp cheese and home fries. Full of fresh veggies and ham. Home fries with onions were done well - not greasy. The little diner was crowded on a Friday morning, mostly locals. The little booths and stools at the counter were well- worn, but clean. A pleasant step into a simpler time - a nice way to start the day!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exmore Diner also viewed

 

Been to Exmore Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing