We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stopover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exmore
Certificate of Excellence
Sweet Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stopover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a great experience with this hotel - a stopover on our way to the Outer Banks, the staff was friendly and helpful, our room was clean and large and the breakfast in the morning was great. Perfect for the one night we needed it for!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAtraveler163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    110
    48
    23
    8
See reviews for
176
120
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have traveled to the Eastern shore a few times and was happy to see this hotel open. I have stayed there 3 times now, and the service is great. The rooms look good, but there were dead bugs the second time I stayed all over the floor in my room, and a huge spider on the wall the last time I stayed. I can deal with that but the brown tinted water that comes out of the shower, toilet, and sink is just scary bad.......stay at the holiday inn express across the street. It was nice and had clean water.

Room Tip: Holiday inn express across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison H, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Chad P,
I am sorry that the last two times that you have stayed with us the accomodations have not been up to par. Since this Summer has been so dry and hot, we have seen a dramatic increase in insects, which we have been controlling with a routine maintenance program. The discoloring in the water is city wide because of the hardness of thee water that is received from the city. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future for us to show you that we are above average and will deliver exceptional customer service.

Sincerely,
The Team at Hampton Inn & Suites - Exmore/Eastern Shore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Located off the main road (13). Approx 3 hours from Northern Outerbanks. We had a late night check-in and my requested room was awaiting me without issue.

Parking lot is on the small side.

Lots of diversity here and in the area...not that - that is a bad thing.

Travelling north on a Sunday will yield several flea markets. To the South is the Bridge-Tunnel and the Norfolk area.

Breakfast was just ok. Make your own waffles on a griddle machine. Also, some form of scrambled eggs was available. Looked like it was from a frozen pack then microwaved. It was kind of like little scrambled egg balls. They could not keep the food trays full. This was a busy property with allot of hungry guests.

We had a nice room in a quiet section. We were on the top floor...thank goodness because the floors (of both the rooms and halls) seemed to be made of creaky wood which I believed would make noise down below on the next floor. Our bathroom had a huge shower stall and no tub...which I prefer.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdrake3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Hotel is in great location with clean spacious rooms! Staff was friendly and great breakfast! Only problems I had were that I was approved for early check-in and when I got there room was not ready, I was told to come back in 30 minutes {after driving 9 hours}.....Other problem was that while eating breakfast the television was tuned in to the BET channel, every other time I stay at a Hampton, the channel tuned in is usually MSNBC or Fox News, All of the guests eating their breakfast near me were ALSO white and looked at each other quizzically while eating and having to view BET useless programming---hope this is corrected ASAP. Thanks--

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FREESTYLEWOLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here for two nights while touring the Eastern shore of VA. It was a great base for a day trip from Onancock to Tangier Island. The hotel is fairly new and in great shape. Clean and quiet. Two minor quibbles: no mini-refrigerator in the room, and the windows do not open. OTOH, that means that rooms are quieter. Very pleasant staff and a better-than-average breakfast, which included cut-up fresh fruit (melon, etc.) and egg dishes which varied from day to day. All in all, a great place to stop if you're in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank majorswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
365 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stay at this Hampton Inn about 6 times a year, traveling back and forth from NJ to SC. Great staff, clean rooms, wonderful breakfast.
This may be the nicest Hampton I have ever stayed in.
While in Exmore, although not listed on TA, go to the Great Machipongo Clam Shack about 2 miles south of hotel. Great food, and bluegrass music on Saturday nites.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doc491002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmore
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
22.5 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#2 of 7 in Cape Charles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
The Inn at Onancock
The Inn at Onancock
#1 of 6 in Onancock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
20.2 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 8 in Cape Charles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
20.0 mi away
Fig Street Inn
Fig Street Inn
#3 of 8 in Cape Charles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Address: 4129 Lankford Highway, Exmore, VA 23350
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Exmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Exmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore Hotel Exmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing