We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Exmore
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We have stayed at HIE in the past and were never disappointed. We did miss having a fridge in the room. It was clean and the staff was polite, it is on a main highwayso it can tend to be a little noisy at times.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maudeydaudey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    63
    37
    20
    19
See reviews for
68
55
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

A newer hotel. Clean rooms and comfortable beds. Try to get a room not facing the highway as facing the highway is a bit loud. Solid breakfast typical of HIE. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmjm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We checked in on 6/11/12. Our usual routine is to check the beds as soon as we get in the room. We didn't see any signs of bed bugs. Turned on the air conditioner, and about an hour later, noticed two bed bugs on the bed next to the air conditioner. Called the front desk and they offered to give us another room. However, it is pretty difficult to still stay in the hotel after you see bed bugs. The surprising thing was that we did not get an apology right away and the front desk did not seem surprised or concerned about the bed bugs. We had some problems trying to move to another hotel because we got our room through Orbitz. The hotel couldn't give us our refund and told us that we had to go through Orbitz. Orbitz tried to call the hotel to get an approval to issue as a refund, but couldn't get an approval from the hotel. There was some delay with getting things straightened out.

Orbitz told us that the front desk staff refused to issue a refund and then kept hanging up on them. Orbitz also claimed that there was no manager on duty and that they were told by the front desk that only a manager can approve the refund. I was on the phone with Orbitz for about 40 minutes. All they kept telling me was that there was nothing that they could do because the rate that we had was a non-refundable rate. I can understand if we just didn't like the room and wanted our money back or just decided that we didn't want it. However, we have been traveling for about 4 hours and all we wanted was a room to get settled in and relax. We just couldn't stay there because of the bed bugs. It would cost us a whole lot of money to get an exterminator for our house to get rid of them if we end up taking any of it home. It was not worth the risk. I don't think that Orbitz was really on our side here because that is not how we were received by the front desk staff or the manager when we talked to them. We were told that Orbitz buys rooms in bulk and then sells them at a low rate. I think that Orbitz ended up losing the money with us getting a refund for the room and so they were not very helpful with getting our problem resolved. It's the almighty dollar at work. I did not get a very good experience with booking through Orbitz from this experience and I don't think that I will book through Orbitz ever again with how poorly they handled the situation.

We finally had to get it resolved ourselves and talked to the front desk again. The manager had to approve the refund, but she stepped out so we waited for her to come back.

The manager was very reasonable. At first she didn't think that it could possibly be bed bugs. Luckily, I took pictures and also "caught" one of them and put them in a cup to take to show them. This was a bed bug and once that was confirmed, the manager approved the refund and apologized. She had the room closed off and requested the staff to call the exterminator. I thought that the manager handled it very well. She even got us a good deal at another Holiday Inn Express. I was satisfied by how she handled the issue. I completely understand that bed bugs can be carried by other travelers. We think that they may have been in the air conditioner, which is why we didn't see them in the bed right away and did not see them until we turned on the air conditioner.

Lesson learned: keep checking for bed bugs throughout your entire stay because you may not see them right away. Also, Orbitz or other companies that buy rooms in bulk may not always have your best interest in mind when it comes to having problems like bed bugs, they don't like losing their money.

Overall, the hotel was pretty clean, we did have some stains on the towels and wash cloths but the room was decent.

Bed bugs could really appear at any hotel, so it really is just a matter of checking to make sure your room does not have them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
The bed bug issue was checked immediately and no bed bugs were found in the room. The room has been rented many times since this incident and no issues such as this have been reported. We have a beautiful, clean and comfortable hotel here on the Eastern Shore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stay in quite a few hotels for both business and leisure, and this one was decent. I am admittedly partial to the Holiday Inn brand when I travel, but this one was better than average. The indoor pool was a plus with the kids, and the breakfast buffet met my expectations for this type of hotel. The hotel appeared on the newer side, and I was appreciative that the rooms were updated. Another plus was that the hotel is not adjacent to any other properties, so I did not have to worry about noise from parking lots or other businesses. Another plus was that when reported a maintenance problem to the front desk, they were very responsive.

Room Tip: If you have children, the indoor pool is on the first floor. I recommend the first floor, facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesDeLacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading Pa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I try to give the hotel a realistic review so my values tend to be a little lower then most, I spend over 100 night a year in hotels so it takes a bit to get a 5 out of me. It is a newer hotel in very good shape and well run. The rooms are modern and very clean. We had a king room and it was very comfortable and the AC worked well and was quiet. The TV had a satellite system and the remote didn't work well and a bit frustrating as you had to use it in a certain position or it didn't work at all. We were passing through so we didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel. The Breakfast is consistent at all Holiday Inn Express nothing fancy but good enough if you want a quick grab and go meal. Next time through the area we will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTHammer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Roads
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

the hotel was very clean and the staff was great the free breakfast was very good and they made you feel at home .the pool area was very clean and so was the excer.area.the rooms had a lot of room and this hotel had the lcd flat screen tv's .there are plenty of places to eat nearby. we will return to this hotel again

Room Tip: does not matter which rooms you pick there all very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mityqwik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and needed to bring our cat. They allowed pets and charged $25/night for the pet. We stayed in a King Suite and it was spacious and very clean. We did not take advantage of the gym or the pool, but we did try the breakfast one morning.... it was pretty terrible. It was a nice display of food, eggs, pastries, pancakes, sausage and biscuits, fruit... but nothing was edible aside from the fruit. But it was free, so that's good!

Overall, our stay was pleasant, the staff was very friendly and if I had to travel through Exmore again, I would stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is in the back of the hotel. We stayed in one on the side with the road and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schwen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exmore
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Exmore - Eastern Shore
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Exmore
153 reviews
22.9 mi away
Shore Stay Suites
Shore Stay Suites
#3 of 7 in Cape Charles
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Charlotte Hotel & Restaurant
20.6 mi away
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
Bay Haven Inn of Cape Charles
#1 of 9 in Cape Charles
281 reviews
20.4 mi away
Fig Street Inn
Fig Street Inn
#3 of 9 in Cape Charles
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore
Address: 3446 Lankford Hwy, Exmore, VA 23350-2649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Exmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Exmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book your Eastern Shores Virginia hotel reservations now & start planning your trip today. For leisure travelers, our Exmore, Virginia, hotel is convenient to numerous tourist destinations such as Eastern Shore wineries, NASA Wallops and Broad Water Ecotours. For a full day of relaxation, you can head to one of the many local beaches on the Chesapeake Bay or take a drive through the world famous Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites in Exmore, Virginia offers some of the newest and most contemporary accommodations on the Eastern Shore of Virginia and is conveniently located on Route 13. Our hotel in Exmore helps start your day right with the Express Start hot breakfast bar featuring our exclusive cinnamon rolls. Business travelers have access to a 24-hour business center that offers fax & copy services. All guests of our Exmore hotel can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access. In addition, there is a heated indoor pool and a fitness center to accommodate your active lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Exmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Exmore
Holiday Inn Express Exmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing