We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nightmare! Total lack of regard for guests in emergencies”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sleep Inn Emporia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn Emporia
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Emporia
Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A nightmare! Total lack of regard for guests in emergencies”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed at this hotel during Hurricane Irene. The hotel lost power and phones at 1:30 pm Saturday and never came back on (no generator). That's not their fault - their lack of communication however, is. The hotel only has 4 floors and 64 rooms. Yet NO ONE checked on guests, made any announcements in the hallway, asked if anyone needed anything, etc.. Luckily I had my own supplies. Guests included elderly, families, children and singles escaping the storm. To top it off, housekeepers on Sunday morning were demanding their cigarette breaks at 9 am and declaring that they weren't "helping to take anything down those stairs." These small hotel owners must learn to communicate with guests in an emergency. It was appalling, will not recommend this hotel to anyone, even in sunny weather.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkPearl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    68
    32
    11
    12
See reviews for
81
103
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Sleep Inn has been totally updated and upgraded. Nice new renovations throughout. Of course the staff is pleasant as always. I stay there every 3 months and am now more comfortable that ever.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadwarrior87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

That's it, just okay. The positives: everything was pretty clean. Breakfast was good. The woman who checked us out at the front desk was extremely nice and friendly. The negatives: we had driven almost 6 hours in traffic and it was midnight - we were ready to check in and go to bed. The woman at the front desk on the night shift was not friendly at all. The lobby of the hotel was nice but the rooms looked very outdated. The showers were weird, no curtain, and there was almost no water pressure. But at least the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktmk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Clean, pleasant room. Ask for one with the walk-in shower. Staff was very helpful and friendly. A nice place to break your trip along I-95.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdofgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We travel back and forth from The East Coast of NJ to the Southwest Coast of FL at least a couple times a quarter. I-95 is our Route. We started going to Sleep Inn's over a year ago. We were always put off by the name and did not stop. What a mistake. The Hotel is so clean, well-decorated, comfortable, well priced and friendly. Every single one of them, especially Emporia. We actually try to stop there npw. Beds are comfortable and an added pleasure is the breakfast. Eggs, bacon, waffles, cereal. Constantly refreshed by a girl who loves her job. A true find. Maybe the name does tell the whole story !!!

Room Tip: Consistant. Don't be hesitant to ask, you will recieve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usboatsales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2011

The location is super convenient: right off I-95. Lots of good eating places (5 Guys Burgers a favorite). The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room really was fantastic: the quality I would have expected from a much higher priced hotel. We stayed there twice on our trip to and from New York. We would definitely recommend it to others. A double thumbs up.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnhhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohawk, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Chose this hotel because the one we usually choose didn't have the accomodations we required. Sleep Inn was equal in every way but was somewhat less expensive. We are won over and will look for Sleep Inn first from now on.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaMohawk_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emporia
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Emporia
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Emporia
Hampton Inn Emporia
#1 of 12 in Emporia
778 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Emporia
BEST WESTERN Emporia
#6 of 12 in Emporia
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Emporia
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Emporia I-95
19.2 mi away
Quality Inn Roanoke Rapids
Quality Inn Roanoke Rapids
#4 of 8 in Roanoke Rapids
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Emporia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Emporia

Property: Sleep Inn Emporia
Address: 899 Wiggins Road, Emporia, VA 23847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Emporia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Emporia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Emporia 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Emporia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporia Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing