We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best Western Emporia
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Emporia
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Emporia
Reviewed June 22, 2013

What a bad experience. First, the room was extremely musty and we requested to be moved. The desk clerk was able to accommodate us. The door of the new room was very hard to open. A room with two queens had only three bath towels. Then the hair dryer didn't work. The desk clerk was able to provide us with another dryer. Then we realized the problem was the plug not the dryer. Next we discovered that the toilet leaked. One of these alone we could deal with, but this was too much. The one good thing was the desk clerk was very nice. And the breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dlk1716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47089, Front Office Manager at Best Western Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I apologize any inconvenience you had during your stay. Your feedback is important to us. Please consider staying again so we can make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 365 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

First room we got the sink would not drain. Front desk was quick to move us to another room. Friendly staff. The hotel is a little worn. But room was clean and comfortable . The bed did squeak but still slept like a log. Breakfast was fine but waffle maker was out of order. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigRigHauler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47089, Front Office Manager at Best Western Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thanks!! Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Got a good rate the day before arrival.
The checkin was very quick. The only issue was that my husband and I both had trouble opening our room door with the card even though it showed a green light. Went back to the front desk and he actually came with us to our room and opened our door.
The room was very spacious. It was also clean and so was the bathroom.
Slept like a rock on the King bed. Shower was hot. Flat screen TV worked fine but I think may have been set wrong because it kept coming up as analog. I think if it was set as digital it would have been a clearer picture.
Anyway, very satisfied overall.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARION E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47089, Front Office Manager at Best Western Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Always a nice place to rest on my way from NY to Disney World. It is clean and the rooms are kept up. TV is really good with many stations to watch, not just a few like other motels. Good quick breakfast. It is in a nice little area in Emporia that is not overwhelming or congested with traffic and has a Shoneys that I like and other restaurants and several gas stations. Could not ask for more. Convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank foodfan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47089, Front Office Manager at Best Western Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you. Looking forward to next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is very outdated & old. It was clean but the price was not a huge savings on Hotels.com. The bed was comfortable but the springs squeaked. Breakfast was fine & the staff were very pleasant! The outlet for the hairdryer didnt work.

This is 2 stories with outside doors. There are no elevators. Free WIFI was VERY slow so I gave up! We wont stay there again!

Room Tip: They do allow pets. ask for a 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VavaOceanCityNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47089, Front Office Manager at Best Western Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us at Best Western Emporia. Sorry you were not happy with your stay. Guest satisfaction is our priority and we are sorry we let you down. Please consider staying with us again and giving us a chance to make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank CanadaPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BestWestern47089, Front Office Manager at Best Western Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here several times traveling to the Carolinas. We have found the rooms both comfortable and clean. On our most recent trip, our room had recently been up graded with new bedding and TV. The complimentary breakfast was good as always. The staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deputydot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BestWestern47089, Front Office Manager at Best Western Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emporia
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Emporia
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Emporia
Sleep Inn Emporia
#6 of 12 in Emporia
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Emporia
Hampton Inn Emporia
#1 of 12 in Emporia
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Emporia
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Emporia I-95
21.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Emporia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Emporia

Address: 1100 W Atlantic St, Emporia, VA 23847-2841 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Emporia)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Emporia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Emporia
Price Range: $85 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Emporia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Best Western Emporia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Emporia Hotel Emporia
Emporia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing