We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shoney's

Shoney's
Ranked #8 of 38 Restaurants in Emporia
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Friendly, wonderful staff. Food was just okay off the breakfast bar. Decent breakfast, but not my first choice again. Service was outstanding!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank missiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    20
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reisterstown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Good breakfast buffet. Service prompt and courteous. Good food for a decent price.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
169 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good value, good food, quick service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

For about $10 each, we got an amazing meal that included very good chicken and rice soup, a salad that was fresh, salmon (large piece with no fishy taste) with a large serving of vegetables and rice. I even commented to my husband that the vegetables were cooked quite well for this type of restaurant.

For a quick meal, pretty good even from a nutrition standpoing and great value, you cannot go wrong with this Shoney's.

Helpful?
Thank Voyageurmonde19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Buffet style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

WE had the buffet and it was excellent the ribs just melted in your mouth

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank cookiemonster011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service, Reasonably Priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We went to Shoney's because it was within walking distance from the hotel, and did not want to get back in the car after driving all day. The service was good. There seemed to be a lot of locals (usually a good sign). Varied selection on the menu, so something for everyone, or you can choose to eat from the buffet.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roseann_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoney's also viewed

 

Been to Shoney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing