We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to rest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Emporia
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Emporia
Certificate of Excellence
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place to rest”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I stopped here on our way back home and found the hotel very nice. Quiet, clean and the staff very accommodating. The morning breakfast was a sumptuous buffet organized and overseen by a very personal woman named Jean. Puts out a good spread and is very attentive in keeping it stocked. Emporia is a pit stop off of I95 with nothing we found but fast food, but the hotel was a much needed respite from a long day of driving. With HIE you know what to expect!

Room Tip: Get a room on the north end away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    102
    35
    11
    12
See reviews for
126
97
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

While there were some very nice features, the breakfast and the breakfast staff, the hot tub being the highlights. We had trouble connecting to the wifi, the signal strength was very low and we were booted off several times. The staff at the front desk could have been more professional, we overheard them complaining about each other and swearing while we were walking in and out of the building early in the morning. The hot tub was very nice, the indoor pool was very cold. The bed was very uncomfortable. It wasn't the worst Holiday inn we have stayed at, but it could use some improvements.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carfullofboysx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Emporia, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Carfullofboysx3,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. We understand that having a comfortable stay is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the internet connection and bed. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Far and away the best HIE we have stayed in, and we have stayed in many. While all aspects were near perfection, the breakfast was way beyond our high expectations. Nothin over or under cooked, great selection and the absolutely best sausage gravy I have ever eaten, and I am from the South, you cannot go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiMiCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Traveling home from Florida to Long Island. Great hotel to get a good nights sleep, shower and a quick breakfast before leaving. Clean and updated. Will stay again.

PS: they have complimentary toothbrushes, Combs, shaving stuff if you forgot.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Iamdaisyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

My family and I are headed to Florida for our winter vacation, we live in Maine, so we were a little upset to drive into a blizzard! The roads were horrible even for us mainers! We stopped in Emporia and booked a room off our points, first off I was hesitant about staying at a holiday inn express due to previous bad experiences! This holiday inn was so clean you cold eat off the floor!!!! Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable and pillows were awesome (I usually travel with my own pillow) the staff was unbelievably nice! With the storm hitting the roads were closed and most of the staff couldn't leave, after all that and the stress the staff was awesome! The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I have ever had! I would definitely stay there again!!!!!!!!!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieGagnon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Travel with family we found the room to be Clean, the staff to be both friendly and professional. The property was well kept. The breakfast was hot and all seemed fresh. All in all a good stay and we would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The accommodation was a delight. The room was spacious, clean and had comfortable beds. The bathroom was spotless, had a great shower, and plenty of towels. Every staff member that we came into contact with was friendly, helpful and, obviously, enjoyed their job. The breakfast buffet was quite adequate and in a pleasant room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PleasantOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emporia
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Emporia
Hampton Inn Emporia
#1 of 12 in Emporia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Emporia
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Emporia I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Emporia
Sleep Inn Emporia
#6 of 12 in Emporia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Emporia
Best Western Emporia
#5 of 12 in Emporia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Emporia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Emporia

Property: Holiday Inn Express Emporia
Address: 1350 W Atlantic St, Emporia, VA 23847-2863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Emporia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Emporia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Emporia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Emporia, VA. The Smile that greets you here is worth a thousand words. Imagine a Hotel designed to deliver guests a distinctive and engaging experience for each and every stay. We are conveniently located off of Interstate-95 at exit 11-B on Highway 58. We have easy access to both Virginia Beach and Richmond. We are in close proximity to shopping areas and restaurants for your convenience. Located near by is Southern Virginia Regional Medical Center, Southampton Motor Speedway, Merherrin State Park and Greensville Historical Courthouse Square. We offer a state of the art hotel with luxurious accommodations, featuring facilities that meet the needs of leisure, corporate, or group traveler. Our 78 well-appointed, spacious guestrooms, nineteen of which are suites, all rooms offer free high speed Internet, voice mail, coffeemaker, iron and board, free local calls. Our three-story hotel has interior corridors, in-room sprinkler system, smoke detectors, and many features geared to the safety of our guests Whether you are having fun at our indoor pool or relaxing in your room at Holiday Inn Express-Emporia you will enjoy every moment of your stay. Each Morning we lay our Express Start Breakfast with hot coffee, juices, fruits, sausage gravy & biscuits, eggs, bacon, our famous cinnamon rolls and much more served just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Emporia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Emporia Hotel Emporia
Holiday Inn Emporia
Emporia Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing