We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible service! Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Emporia
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Emporia
Certificate of Excellence
Lambertville, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Incredible service! Great location!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on my way to, and a week later, on way back from a travel destination. On my first stay I accidentally left my travel refrigerator plugged into the car and the battery had died overnight. Tamika at the reception desk was so incredibly helpful! I am severely hearing impaired and she went above and beyond to call AAA for me and arrange for a local car repair shop to come jump my car. She even offered to let us stay in our room until the serviceman arrived. He was there so fast I was only 20 minutes late getting on the road. The hotel is located conveniently right off I-95 so it was relatively easy on and easy off the highway. The hotel is on the quieter West side of I-95 and if you drive over to the East side there is a Walmart and other restaurants, gas stations, stores, etc. It was a great place to rest on my journey and I will use the hotel again. Thank you so much for all your help Tamika! You are the best!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank WMW08530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    102
    35
    11
    12
See reviews for
126
97
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
401 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed 4/15. Just off I-95, the hotel is very well groomed and clean with ample parking. Check in was by a single young clerk who was quite simply overworked checking folks in, answering questions and dealing with a constantly ringing phone. There were cookies at the counter, but the person in front of us took about a dozen, leaving none. Jeez, I wanted one of those cookies...

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Rooms are large and well appointed with a big flat screen TV, fridge and MW. Beds are very comfortable with clean fresh sheets and nice pillows. Carpeting in the hallway and room appeared fairly new, bright and clean. The HVAC noise is very quiet. Breakfast was hot and with good selection. There are many good restaurants and gas stations within a mile.

We liked this place a lot.

Room Tip: Cracker Barrel and other restaurants about a mile away
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocklawaha, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stop here on way to Florida, Very Clean, large rooms, great value with the travel coupon book at rest areas. Awesome breakfast bar with pancakes and great cinobom rolls. Very pleasant staff at front desk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richlo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling to Florida and called to to check for rooms/rates on our way, Kerri (front desk clerk) couldn't be more helpful. The hotel is located in a safe and surprisingly quiet area with a few restaurants near. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Breakfast was very good, consisting of the usual cereals, bagles and toast along with warm buiscuts, sausage patties, eggs and delicious cinnamon buns. We often stay at HI Expresses and this is one of the better ones! Would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DanNlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday0168, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Emporia, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites. I am so pleased that you like the friendliness of our staff and our rooms. Look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

holiday inn express emporia is just like american express, don't leave home without it. its like home away from home. friendly , kind, attentive, staff is always willing to help. breakfast attendent is great. its the south at one of it best. if i could buy one like candy, i would say buy one now.like tony the tiger would say, "its great".

Room Tip: call in advance. 2nd floors rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kogm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday0168, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Emporia, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could make your stay feel like "home". We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Some of the hotels along the 95 corridor are old and nasty. Not this one. Nice room, large flat screen TV & Wifi. Breakfast was better than most with the most attentive attendant we've ever encountered.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funrunsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
160 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff here is so friendly and helpful, something we've noticed about the South. It was just too bad the beds and pillows were so uncomfortable. I was surprised because this Holiday Inn Express seemed brand new. Since neither one of us was getting any sleep, we got up and continued on our trip. Agree with Wamrazing, get fuel at exit 8, prices are less.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank styx-stones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Emporia, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear styx-stones,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am so pleased you liked the friendliness of our staff. I am sorry the bed and pillows you received did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Emporia, VA.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emporia
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Emporia
Hampton Inn Emporia
#1 of 12 in Emporia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Emporia
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Emporia I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Emporia
Sleep Inn Emporia
#6 of 12 in Emporia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Emporia
Best Western Emporia
#5 of 12 in Emporia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Roanoke Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Emporia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Emporia

Property: Holiday Inn Express Emporia
Address: 1350 W Atlantic St, Emporia, VA 23847-2863
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Emporia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Emporia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Emporia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Emporia, VA. The Smile that greets you here is worth a thousand words. Imagine a Hotel designed to deliver guests a distinctive and engaging experience for each and every stay. We are conveniently located off of Interstate-95 at exit 11-B on Highway 58. We have easy access to both Virginia Beach and Richmond. We are in close proximity to shopping areas and restaurants for your convenience. Located near by is Southern Virginia Regional Medical Center, Southampton Motor Speedway, Merherrin State Park and Greensville Historical Courthouse Square. We offer a state of the art hotel with luxurious accommodations, featuring facilities that meet the needs of leisure, corporate, or group traveler. Our 78 well-appointed, spacious guestrooms, nineteen of which are suites, all rooms offer free high speed Internet, voice mail, coffeemaker, iron and board, free local calls. Our three-story hotel has interior corridors, in-room sprinkler system, smoke detectors, and many features geared to the safety of our guests Whether you are having fun at our indoor pool or relaxing in your room at Holiday Inn Express-Emporia you will enjoy every moment of your stay. Each Morning we lay our Express Start Breakfast with hot coffee, juices, fruits, sausage gravy & biscuits, eggs, bacon, our famous cinnamon rolls and much more served just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Emporia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Emporia Hotel Emporia
Holiday Inn Emporia
Emporia Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing