We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find on the way home from vacation”

Carolina BBQ & Chicken Incorporated
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little find on the way home from vacation”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Looking for a place to stop for dinner on the way home to NJ from Myrtle Beach, we saw a sign for a Waffle House and something called the Cookout. I didn't realize that Cookout was a fast food place, so I drove another block and saw this place, and pulled in, not knowing it was a buffet until we walked in.

$5 for kids, $2 for toddlers, and $9 for adults, plus drinks and a tip. Can't beat it! Selection was good, with everything from salad to fried chicken. Biscuits and cornbread were awesome, as was the mashed potatoes. I didn't try everything on the buffet, but everything I had was great.

Dessert was a little lacking, but probably only because I don't eat 75% of what they had for dessert.

Great little find!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apingicer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    42
    17
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had enjoyed my past visits to this restaurant and was looking forward to this one. I had made this visit part of my birthday request and traveled out of the way to get there. Once there I was terribly disappointed at the quality of the food. They have very good food, but it is enjoyable when hot. The food was not as tasty cold. The first night I thought it may have been a fluke, but when we went back the second night, the food was just as cold. When the server asked if everything was ok, I told her the food was cold and maybe some one should check the warming station. She was very polite and apologized. She apparently spoke to someone and was told that the temperature check was just done and it registered 160 degrees. I informed her, that the food was still cold. Needless to say this meal was not enjoyed, and I more than likely will not return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandra321_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice lunch stop”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

We were passing through on the way to the beach and we stopped here. My husband said it was a good sign that there were state trucks in the parking lot since it meant this is a place the locals go. This buffet was nothing fancy but $8 per person ($2.19 for our 4 year old) got you salads, veggies, lots of meat choices and desserts. We were especially impressed with the homemade mashed potatoes and the fried chicken. The rolls and desserts were pretty good too. We would eat here again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Buffet with great sweet iced tea!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Excellent Buffet with a variety of choices both healthy and not so healthy!!! Try it for yourself and you will agree!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1QueenBee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if you want to try something different !”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Realy down home and casual. Good chicken both fried and based and both types of Barbaque...Carolina and Viginia..The place is not modern by no means but they try and keep it clean.All food is served buffet style with the exception of drinks.Reasonably priced at $10.99 per person.

If you feel adventourous and what to try something different than Applebees or Cracker Barrell, give this place a try..

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carolina BBQ & Chicken Incorporated also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing