We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update tv and mattresses, staff did change our room but tv...”
Review of Days Inn Emporia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn Emporia
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Emporia
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Update tv and mattresses, staff did change our room but tv reception was still bad in the second room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Gordon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemant P, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest, I would like to apologize to you about the TV reception in your Room we had a snow storm and the distribution box was blown doe to power flactuation but I would like to tell you that the problem has been fixed and taken cared of. We value your feedback and business.
Thank you for staying with us here at Days Inn Emporia, Virginia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 622 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

We've always tried to find the positive in any and all our experiences and travels, but due to our specific circumstances at this Days Inn, we can only describe this experience one of our worst...as one that was both terrible and unacceptable for our needs. Sadly when we left, shortly after midnight, and returned the keys, the front desk's response was seeming indifference to our comments and concerns.
We were traveling south in late January just prior to a major snow and ice storm that impacted the Southeast US. We needed to know the forecast from this location to our destination in FL. We had been following the weather and planned on listening to the weather on the TV and our computer. Since this location had both TV and WiFi and was relatively economical, we chose it.
We turned on the TV, but it did not function. We checked with the front desk, and they indicated it was with cable and would soon be fixed (by the time we left, it wasn't). So we tried WiFi. It did not work either. We went to front desk and they got it to work, but back in the room it failed again. Concerned about the weather, we went to bed early planning to arise extra early to get ahead of the approaching storm...we hoped.
Since it was getting cold, we turned on the heat to 67 F and turned off bathroom light (which had that annoying loud hum of a cheap fluorescent light) and hopped into bed. Within a few minutes the room was stifling hot so we turned the temp down to 64 and then later down to 60, all to no avail. It would not stop running or regulate and the room remained unbearably hot. So we shut it off. Suffice it to say, with freezing outdoor temperatures, the room cooled off rapidly. The choice was too hot or too cold. At this point, changing rooms was not appealing either. Since it was approaching midnight and we still had no TV or WiFi in an uncomfortable room, we decided to leave and hope for the best. (As it tuned out, it was our best decision of the day. We were able to outrun a bad snow and ice storm, but we're exhausted from a night without sleep.)
The condition of the Inn, despite visible efforts to "maintain" it, show a worn out facility with threadbare furniture, rugs and fixtures. We didn't expect much with the low price, but did expect more than we got. The old saying, "you get what you pay for" certainly works here...in spades!
Response to our need was complacent at best. Our comment about how unacceptable the stay was, was met without a "sorry" or any concern for our needs. We could have complained more or with more volume, but felt that a well trained staff should show more concern without the customers becoming obnoxious.
Perhaps others will read this and avoid a similar experience. Better yet, perhaps the Inn's management will read it and take steps to fix and upgrade the facility, and train their staff.
There are a number of other hotels in the area and we suspect you can do better than this Days Inn.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemant P, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,
I'm so sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. That was truly not our intention; guest satisfaction is our priority and we are sorry we let you down. We really appreciate your feedback, and hope you give us a chance to make it right.
I would also like to apologize to you about the TV that was gue to weather we had lot of snow and the Distribution box was out we called Comcast but due to weather they could not make it on time please accept my sincere apologies for the Inconvinience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hemant P, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Clean and well located just off I-95. Breakfast was more than adequate and have make-your-own waffles. If you want to complain about noise and you think that there needs to be more breakfast food, stay at a Hampton and pay twice as much! Hotels should be reviewed for what they are comparable to. Days Inn doesn't profess to be five-star. We found the staff very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemant P, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much!! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at Days Inn- Emporia. Guest satisfaction is our first priority and we’re glad not to disappoint.
We hope you travel to or through Emporia again soon, We appreciate your feedback and your business.
Thanks again. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Ramona R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hemant P, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Sparkle D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hemant P, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Rod G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hemant P, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Emporia, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Emporia hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Emporia
0.2 mi away
Best Western Emporia
Best Western Emporia
#5 of 12 in Emporia
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Emporia
Sleep Inn Emporia
#6 of 12 in Emporia
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Emporia
Hampton Inn Emporia
#1 of 12 in Emporia
865 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Emporia I-95
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Emporia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Emporia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Emporia

Address: 921 West Atlantic St, I-95 & US 58 West Exit 11-B, Emporia, VA 23847-2847
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Emporia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Emporia
Price Range: $68 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Emporia 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your travels in southern Virginia at Days Inn Emporia hotel. Located by the North Carolina border at the intersection of Route 58 and I-95, our hotel near Petersburg puts popular area attractions and activities within easy reach. Count on warm hospitality, pleasant atmosphere, and great value at our hotel. We offer free WiFi, and microwaves and refrigerators upon request. Enjoy conveniences such as guest laundry facilities and free large-vehicle parking. Read your free copy of USA Today over a free Daybreak breakfast. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool. Our pet-friendly hotel features accessible and non-smoking rooms. The rides, roller coasters, and fun activities at Busch Gardens Virginia and Kings Dominion are just a day trip away from our hotel. Explore the historic streets of nearby Petersburg, and then learn about Civil War history at Petersburg National Battlefield. Great shopping is also an easy drive away at Southpark Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Emporia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Emporia Hotel Emporia
Emporia Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing