We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Emporia
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Emporia
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disgusting”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

the room was filthy. there was mold in the bath tub, the bathroom floor was dirty, the coffee pot was covered in dust, afraid to use it, the full length mirror was dirty, the carpet was filthy, wouldn't walk on it in my barefeet. i would never stay in a quality inn again and i wouldn't reccomend it to my family or friends. i didn't sleep well at all. the place was disgusting. a terrible nights stay to say the leas

Room Tip: don't say at the quality inn in emporia, va.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    26
    32
    33
    49
See reviews for
71
33
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Used coupon from one of the hotel road guides. Room was adequate. Did not have any problems with the cleanliness of the room. Bathroom was dated and worn out, in need of a major facelift. Water pressure was weak. Numerous restaurants in area. Would not stay here for an extended amount of time, but it was okay for a one night stay to rest from traveling.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank septmorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hightstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We were on our way from Disney World home to our summer home in Ocean City, MD. back in 2010. We stopped here to see f there were any rooms. The parking lot was empty so I guess there was plenty of rooms. When we went into the lobby, there was a funny smell. Behind the desk was a old Spanish speaking lady that hardly spoke English and hardly had any teeth. She creeped me out! I asked her how much for one night with AAA. First she told $65.00 total. I told her we would think about it and we went outside. A few minutes later she came outside and told us that she would give us the room for $35.00 if we would consider staying. We got in the car so fast and drove off. That was one of the scariest things that ever happened to me. Stay away from this place!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan7702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Emporia hotels

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

If a hotel can't at last get basic cleanliness right, then there isn't much more to say. Mold in the shower, mold on the A/C unit. To reinforce, we weren't the only ones with that problem because the couple in the next room shared the same complaint with us as they were leaving the next morning. What renovation there had been done was sloppy, with shower grout smeared over the joints, etc. For the locations that were supposed to ice machines; one had no machine at all, and the other one was broken and clearly had been for some time. I finally had to go all the way back to the lobby to find one.
We typically stay the the Best Western across the street but thought we would try the Quality Inn; big mistake. We've had pretty good results with Quality Inns in other locations, but this one has serious problems.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrKWnspouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

It was late at night and it was raining. We found the Quality Inn had an available room and we took it. It was a smoking room but there was nothing else available. Everything in the room was very clean except the green (?)sofa which was dirty and stained with who-knows-what. The bed was very comfortable and the television set was in working order. No complaints other than that damn sofa!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaknitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Found the Quality Inn to be adequate for a night's stay on our trip north. Owner let me take a look at the room before I booked it and I found it to be just what we needed. Bed was comfortable and clean. Location was right off 95 and easy to get to. Breakfast was hot and fresh. Used a coupon from the hotel guides found at rest areas. Saved a few dollars that way. Again, owner is trying very hard to meet the needs of his guests. We wish him good luck.

Room Tip: First floor and you can park your car right outside and carry things in easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alohajudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night due to traveling and it was a pet friendly hotel (as I travel with a dog). The place was FILTHY! Refused to walk around without shoes on, the coffee maker was filthy and never cleaned, the bathroom was... on forget it, it was just disgusting. I called and complained and someone came down to clean it and it seemed like they did NOTHING cause it was still gross when they left. The only good thing was the bed was clean and I made sure of it otherwise I was leaving! When checking out, another guest was distraught because she slept in the car due to finding bugs in the bed. GROSS! GO ELSEWHERE!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Unhappy413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Emporia hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Emporia
Best Western Emporia
#5 of 12 in Emporia
336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Emporia
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Emporia
Sleep Inn Emporia
#6 of 12 in Emporia
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Emporia
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Emporia
Hampton Inn Emporia
#1 of 12 in Emporia
801 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Emporia I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Emporia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Emporia

Property: Red Roof Inn Emporia
Address: 1207 W Atlantic St, Emporia, VA 23847-2861 (Formerly Quality Inn Emproria)
Location: United States > Virginia > Emporia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Emporia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Emporia 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Roof Inn Emporia is a budget-friendly, pet-friendly hotel offering free WiFi and flat screen TV in all guest rooms. Nearby to Meherrin River Park and Village View Mansion, this hotel offers free continental breakfast and a seasonal outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Emporia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Emporia
Emporia Quality Inn
Emproria Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing