We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Family Loves this Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Country View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elkton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Country View Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkton
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Family Loves this Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

My family and I have taken several ski vacations to Massanutten and have stayed at the Country View Motel with Bob every time. We are a family of four, so he would put us up in the spacious apartment suite upstairs in his house. We absolutely love it there. It was like staying at a friend's house. We had everything we needed and more. Bob is super friendly and helpful and seems to love running a motel. He is very accommodating and will help you in any way he can. He will even pick up weary hikers from the Appalachian Trail and drive them to his motel for night. While there, he will help them find a place to do their laundry and pick up a pizza. You can't get friendly, personal service like this anymore. Bob is a dying breed. The motel is very comfy, low on frills (we like it that way), and perfect for a laid-back family who needs a (very) reasonable place to stay. We are planning on hiking the AT and will definitely be calling Bob to take us in for a night! Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Just tell Bob what you are looking for; he has a room to suit everyone's needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyfromRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a twelve unit motel. Seven 1950"s individual cottages with one bed and a 5 unit building from the 1960's. The cottages are small, but you have no neighbors. We had one of the end rooms in the main building which has windows on three sides and is very large by today's standards which I like in the older non-chain motels. The positive points are full cable, nice and quiet refrigerator and microwave, small round dining table, updated bath vanity and faucets, AC and clean. Weaknesses are two queen beds, with only one comfortable, some deferred maintenance but nothing bothersome and no coffee maker. The price of $50 included tax which is the amount of money we like to pay for this level of comfort.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 and 12 are the end units with more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tedmc_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We checked in at the Country View Motel after driving by and liking the look of it. It was a little unnerving to walk in without having done our normal amount of prior research. The owner must have sensed our hesitation and, of his own accord, asked if we wanted to take a look at the room before deciding to stay or not, and handed us the key. We were glad we stayed. You can't beat it for the price. Yes, there was a burn mark on the carpet. I hardly think an independent motel owner could or should replace a carpet when an inconsiderate guest leaves behind inconsequential damage like that. The room was large and had an extra (twin) bed. Roomy fridge, microwave, phone, television, dresser, air conditioning, table and chairs for two, and two comfy chairs completed the spacious room for half the price of other hotels. The bathroom has a ceiling-heater that must be nice in the winter. The owner is friendly and interesting and is very willing to be chatty if you like, if not, he respects your desire to do business and move on. We stayed in one of the two larger of the cottages, which means you have no one against your wall - a real sense of privacy. We stopped at the Country Deli down the road, whose proprieter praised the owner of the Country View Motel as a great guy running a clean place - a good review from a local who had nothing to gain by stating his opinion.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger cottages - a great option for families as well as couples or a solo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JS B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed here (a group of 4) for 3 days while we day hiked in Shenandoah NP on the Appalachian Trail. The owner is running the place on his own, so he doesn't provide lots of extras...but the place was clean, there were plenty of towels and soap. Bring your own toiletries. There is a fridge and a microwave & a TV (no phone, but who cares). Great views, the owner Bob is friendly and probably a little lonely since his wife died. He spends time in the Gazebo at night with his dog Shadow and a feisty cat that is cute, but a nipper. My only complaint was our bed..the mattress wasn't spectacular, but after 16 miles on the Appalachian Trail during the day and a couple drinks in the gazebo out front at the end of the day, a hot bath and shelter were fine with me. The price was super affordable as 3 of us shared one cabin....so that worked for hikers that were trying to save a little $$$$. I have read other reviews on here, one that was very negative...I do not agree. If I was 8 months pregnant, I wouldn't be here either, that is what the higher price hotels with elevators, TV and continental breakfast is for. There is a little store down the road that has breakfast sandwiches and good coffee at a reasonable price and a good Italian restaurant in town (Ciro's) that has a good menu and a great wine list. We spent more for a meal than we did for the room, If you want luxury, this isn't the place, if you want no frills, and a good, safe place to store your stuff while you are dayhiking and sightseeing and a place to lay your head at night for cheap...this is the place. Happy Hiking!!! SkaryShari & STicks!

Room Tip: Pick up a bottle of wine in town and sit out front and chat with the owner Bob...the view is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SticksnSkary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

The $40 per night unit we stayed in had peeling paint, an ugly plywood entry way, and generally seemed in need of renovation. A screened window by the table had gaps so flies could get in. A slight unpleasant cigarette smell was noticeable in this unmarked nonsmoking room.. There was good chest of drawer storage space, but no closet hangers. Room lighting was good, and the room was quite spacious. It had a refrigerator and microwave, but no coffee maker. We kept cool enough with a ceiling fan and a noisy air conditioner. The room was quite, but not completely clean, for there was a raisin on the floor and some dead flies on the bathroom floor. Soap and a good hair dryer were provided, but there was no shampoo. The room’s chair was comfortable, as was the bed. Although close to the highway it was quiet at night and we had a good night’s sleep. For breakfast, the owner suggested we look around in downtown Elkton, that there were several restaurants there. We settled on Howe’s Heavenly Haven, near the railroad tracks, and had very good omelettes

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank oldbrdrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elkton
9.3 mi away
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
Lafayette Inn and Restaurant
#1 of 1 in Stanardsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
15.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Harrisonburg
#6 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisonburg
#11 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#5 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
15.1 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
Residence Inn Harrisonburg
#1 of 22 in Harrisonburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country View Motel

Property: Country View Motel
Address: 19974 Spotswood Trail, Elkton, VA 22827
Location: United States > Virginia > Elkton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Elkton
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing