We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Experience In A Lovely Setting!”

The Palisades Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Eggleston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Amazing Experience In A Lovely Setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Palisades Restaurant in Eggleston, Va. is truly an amazing dining experience. The setting is an old hardware store that has been transformed into a gourmet restaurant that has become a favorite of residents of the two Virginia's. A visit to www.thepalisadesrestaurant.com/ will give you an idea of what a special place this is and hopefully will convince you to stop in and see for yourself. The owner, Shaena Muldoon, has created an atmosphere of fun and food that is so unique that you really must go there to understand. Reservations are strongly encouraged but are not a must and if you have to wait there is a great beer and wine bar and a really cool gift shop to occupy your wait time. There is live entertainment on Friday, Saturday and Sunday and special events that are always very well done. This gem is off the beaten path for sure but the ride is absolutely breathtaking. Do yourself a big favor and check out one of the most unique dining experiences you'll ever have for sure!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluedemon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    44
    7
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Definitely Stop Here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband, daughter and I went hiking at Cascade Falls and afterwards wanted to catch an early dinner at The Palisades because my daughter had read how good it was and popular. It is sort of out of the way, but we found it and arrived too early before the restaurant was open. We found the staff to be super friendly and the service was amazing. We loved everything about the restaurant. The atmosphere was charming and the food was wonderful. Highly recommend it!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna224488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stumbled upon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Wow! We were in the area and stumbled upon The Palisades! It was festive - fun - the music was incredible (all local talent). Our waitress was probably the best we have ever had. Service was prompt. The food was incredibly delicious! This is a must! Worth the drive for sure!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatFarrellCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unexpected gem in the Virginia mountains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Located in a building which was an earlier general store, an excellent restaurant in terms of atmosphere, friendliness, several choices of entrees which had a nice combination of flavors and excellent preparation, and reasonable prices for the food and wine. Certainly worth driving a few miles off the main highway.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gpp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great New American food in an old Hardware Store”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

There are very few good restaurants close to Blacksburg, Va, The restauranteurs cater to the college students rather than the more sophisticated crowd. I am hoping that will change, as Blacksurg becomes more of a retirement choice for baby boomers. There are a couple of shining lights, and one of them is The Palisades, located in an old Hardware store in Eggleston, Va. The food is local. The menu changes with the seasons. It is almost always crowded, so I would advise a reservation. There have been times when we have waited 30 min. even with a reservation. The bar is small, so there is often no room there to wait. One thursday evening this summer, my husband and I had to wait 45 minutes. We were given a complimentery appetizer, and a complimentery dessert.
The last visit, went smoothly. We were seated a few minutes after arriving. My husband ordered the soup, which was cream of red pepper, silky, and spicy. He ordered the Cod special, which was cod with red pepper coulis, mashed potatoes, and mixed vegetables. The Cod was cooked perfectly. It flaked, and it was moist. The coulis was just right for the cod, gave it a little punch, but didn't overpower the delicate flavor. I ordered the chicken special, which was a local chicken breast with chipotle glaze, and lemon goat cheese condiment. My breast was tender and juicy, and the glaze verses the goat cheese was spectacular.
Another thing we like about this restaurant is the wine list. It is extensive enough, and you can get a decent wine by the glass for $5. They also have a good selection of beers.
The atmosphere is open, and it can be a little noisy, but we have always been able to have conversation. The entrees range between $13 to $20. They have local steaks, which I haven't tried, and local trout which is very good. I would also like to mention, that they have excellent gourmet pizzas, and we have gone a time or two, just for the pizza and a glass of good red wine. The service is usually good. I would highly recommend you try this restaurant if you are visiting the New River Valley.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deni22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Palisades Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to The Palisades Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing