We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sal's Bistro”

Sal's Italian Bistro
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Edinburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sal's Bistro”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Sal's Italian Bistro is the real deal! Authentic Italian food tucked into the Shenandoah Valley in a small town called Edinburg. We were greeted at the door by Sal himself. He later came and asked how our meal was, then sat down with us when he found out that we were out of towners. Great atmosphere & food! Perfect for a family meal or a romantic couple. A nice surprise!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sbwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    48
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Genuine Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Authentic italian food. Near the Hockman Manor House. A little bit price-y for what and where it is.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank janetisbusy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian Food, Amazing Value”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Put Sal's on your list if you are anywhere in the area. Sal is from Naples and you can tell the food is authentic. We had an amazing lobster ravioli appetizer special. If it happens to be on the menu when you go, don't hesitate.

Both of our pasta entrees were terrific (he had veal, I had shrimp). The best ever garlic bread is worth the extra calories, and the homemade Tiramisu is a must even if you have to order it to go (we were too full to eat it at the restaurant).

The Chianti we had was terrific as well. I don't think you can go wrong with anything at Sal's.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Love_My_Rescue_Dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb penne pomodoro”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was likely the best marinara sauch I have ever had and the pasta was perfect al dente. Service and atmosphere were also excellent! So very much appreciated finding this quality in a small town like Edinburg. Thank you!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our favorite for Italian food. Wonderful selection and always consistent. Good quantities and good value. Staff is outstanding and very professional. We sometimes get the pleasure of talking to the boss, Sal, who is Mister PR. Can't go wrong here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sal's Italian Bistro also viewed

Edinburg, Shenandoah County
 
Woodstock, Shenandoah County
Edinburg, Shenandoah County
 

Been to Sal's Italian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing