We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Poor- Ejected for Having a Service Dog”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Dumfries/Quantico
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
cape coral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Poor- Ejected for Having a Service Dog”
Reviewed February 8, 2009

This Comfort Inn threw my disabled wife and service dog out as they were not a pet friendly Inn. They also attempted to charge my business account a damage charge of $250.00 and we just checked in the room by 5 minutes when we were ejected. They also charged my account $106.08 after giving me a receipt for a zero balance. I call thiis a violating of the Federal ADA laws and credit card fraud and I intend to file a complaint with the US ATTy in Va. Watch your wallet and your credit card charges. Comfort Inn Corporate Office did not care because this motel was independently owned.

  • Liked — I liked Comfort Inn in general but not this one
  • Disliked — Lack of ADA laws and Credit card charge after receiving a zero balance receipt
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tedCapeCoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    45
    17
    5
    7
See reviews for
46
26
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We went to the Marine Corps Base at Quantico to see our son graduate from Officer Candidate School and receive his commission as a 2nd Lieutenant. We needed a hotel near the base and this one was perfect. We payed $86.39 with an AARP discount and thought that was a great price. There are several other national chain hotels side by side here and they all looked fairly new.

Throughout our stay the staff was friendly and available. As others have said, the breakfast that was provided was very good with many choices. The room was spacious, clean and came with a microwave and a refrigerator.

We had to decide on staying either in Stafford or Dumfries to be near Quantico. We are glad we chose Dumfries. It was very easy to get to the base and we drove about 5 miles back toward Washington D.C. to the Potomoc Mills Mall area and found many great restaurants.

We hope to go back to the area to visit again!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No problems at all
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mugzy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesapeake, va
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

We stayed at this hotel on 11/2/08. It was a very nice stay. Check in was a breeze. Upon entering the room, we got a very good first impression. It was fresh and clean, clean linens, clean carpets, etc. The continental breakfast was also very nice, with hot items such as bacon, sausage, eggs, fresh juices, pastries, and cold and hot cereals. The hotel is less than 10 minutes from Quantico National Cemetery. Also, Potomac Mills shopping area is also nearby. All in all, it was a great stay, and if I am in that area again, I would definitely stay there.

  • Liked — a clean hotel that is conveniently located to shopping areas and Quantico National Cemetery
  • Disliked — none observed
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank produce592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2008

This is a new hotel near Washington D.C. It has a large room, with a great bed, bathtub & complimentary internet (travellers: bring a cable) and free parking.
Free full breakfast.
The hotel also has a indoor pool and fitness area which we didn't use, so no opinion on that. It's next to a new Marine Museum which just opened about 1 year ago.

I only stopped over in Dumfries for 1 night for work and went to see new museum on the Marine Base (3 miles from the hotel), so this hotel is perfect if you need a place to stay near Quantico Marine Base.

  • Liked — New Property
  • Disliked — Do not have comfortable seating in the lounge.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dadyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2008

After a few of us stayed at this motel for part of a week, some of us ended up with bedbug bites!!! Upon complaining to the motel staff, there were many promises of apology letters, etc., none of which happened. The owner was either out of town or "maybe he forgot to sign the letter" or whatever. I guess they figure if they ignore us, we'll just let it drop. I wouldn't recommend this motel to anybody as a "nice clean" place to stay.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank WiscLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

I booked the Comfort Inn, Dumfries for a two night weekend stay with my husband and our daughter. We were visiting family and wanted a clean but inexpensive place to stay. The Comfort Inn is a new property and I was very pleased. The hotel was very clean and well kept. Our room had two queen sized beds, and a nice size refrigerator. There is also a fair size heated indoor pool, which my daughter loved. A fitness room and business room with free computer and internet use. My husband used the computer to look up some sports scores and was very happy he did not have to pay to use it like most other places. Also included is a free breakfast. There was more than enough for us but some big breakfast eaters might want to go out. There is a Cracker Barrel, Ihop and diner right outside the property. The breakfast had scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, waffles, muffins, bread, cerals, fruit, drinks, etc.. The eating area was well stocked and clean. The hotel was quiet and in a nice location. A shopping center including a Target and supermarket are right up the street. I was overall very pleased.

  • Liked — What you get for the price
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TBoyd30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2007

Nice, new hotel off of 95. We stayed here for two nights while trying to visit Washington DC on a budget. All DC hotels were very pricey or very dumpy. Upon check-in the staff was friendly. Our room had a fridge and microwave at no extra cost, it was large, and the bathroom was very clean. There were several restaurants within walking distance: a local family restaurant (very, very good, and reasonable prices); Waffle House, and Cracker Barrel. Also the waffle breakfast at the hotel was surprisingly good. Much nicer than ANY Comfort Inn I've stayed in before. Very comfortable beds and linens as well.
Will stay here again the next time we visit the DC vicinity.

  • Liked — Price and clean feeling
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank xylogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries - Quantico Center
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Near Quantico Main Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ramada Triangle/Quantico
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Dumfries Quantico
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Woodbridge
Hilton Garden Inn Woodbridge
#2 of 15 in Woodbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Dumfries/Quantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Dumfries/Quantico

Property: Comfort Inn Dumfries/Quantico
Address: 16931 Old Stage Rd, Dumfries, VA 22025-1917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Dumfries
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Dumfries/Quantico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Hotel is centrally located between Washington, D.C. and Fredericksburg. This Dumfries hotel is minutes from the Potomac Mills outlet mall, Marine Corps Base Quantico, the National Museum of the Marine Corps, the FBI Academy training facility and the Quantico National Cemetery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Dumfries/Quantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Dumfries Quantico
Dumfries Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing