We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Dumfries/Quantico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Dumfries/Quantico
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Comfort Inn. The internet price is cheaper than the walk-in price so for the second night we booked on the internet. It has a heated pool (not as hot as we would like) and a heated spa. The breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor at the back facing the woods and away from the elevator which 'di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelpeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    37
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
42
21
12
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This was an unexpected find! I will be coming back. The rooms were clean and surprisingly quite.The pool was clean, as well as the whirlpool. The staff was helpful and polite, plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We had the occasion to stay here for 12 nights while attending training nearby. The property is characterized by plusses and minuses. On one hand, the staff are very nice, the rooms are clean. We were given a larger room with separate sleeping and living areas, which we greatly appreciated for our extended stay. There is a free breakfast. There's a fitness center, pool, business center.

On the other hand, the breakfast is the same every day. Weird hard-over eggs made in some sort of mold, soggy bacon or sausage, etc. But OK, it was free. There are bagels, toast, yogurt, hot and cold cereals, too, but the sameness gets old. The pillows are hideous, folded into little marshmallows but lumpy. We mentioned this to the front desk and they blamed it on "corporate," which I get: the front desk can't solve it. "Corporate" I hope you are listening. Those pillows are nasty!

Another annoyance was the high cost of poorly performing self-service laundry. It's $2.50 per load to wash, and $2.00 per load to dry, but the dryer was so bad it usually took $4.00 to dry the load. (For the next stage of my trip I moved to a Residence Inn in downtown D.C. where it is $1.00 each to wash and dry.) Also, since there were two of us for almost two weeks, we had a lot of clothes, but few hangars in the room. We asked for more, but there were none available! Oh, and the front desk ran out of quarters so scrounging up $6.50 in quarters for each load of laundry became a challenge.

But it's inexpensive and commuting distance to D.C. for those who are visting. You can park at the Springfield-Franconia Metro station and take a train into D.C.

Room Tip: Don't get a room behind the elevator. The elevator seems to interfere with the WIFI signal so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VinoDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Stayed 4 nights and they did well accommodating our very late check-in and non-smoking, king bed room preference. The room was clean and the breakfast personnel kept everything hot and fully stocked.in the mornings. This hotel is very convenient to the Marine base in Quantico and the Marine Museum.

Unfortunately, the hotel does not mention the safe fee on their website or have it listed on the confirmation. So, I had to call and convince them to refund it. I think it's really a underhanded fee and the person I talked to said that they would take it off it you let them know at checkout. So, future customers should be aware and request that.

Room Tip: If you're near the elevator you can hear it ringing when it stops at that floor. However, being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjbaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed here at the end of July for 3 nights. I thought that this hotel was great. The rooms were very clean. The hotel staff were very friendly. The free hot breakfast that they have in the morning was great. It is much more then the breakfast offered by other hotels. They have eggs bacon, sausage, a make your own waffles station, muffins, orange juice, apple juice, and coffee. The pool, and hot tub were both very nice. I also had a chance to use the business center, and the Internet speed was fast. They also have a printer print information on for free so this is very helpful if you are trying to get information about places in the area . The hotel is very close to I95, and Route 1 so it makes it easy to get to places. The only negative I found was the fitness center was a little small. They put mirrors on the one wall to make the room seem bigger then it is. If the room would be bigger the machines could be spaced a little further apart. Also, there could be more machines. It has a treadmill, elliptical, exercise bike, and weight machine. It would of be nice if they had two of each in case the machine you wanted to use was in use. This never became a issue for me since there wasn't anyone else in the room. Also, the elliptical isn't built as good as some. I didn't feel that comfortable that it could support me while I was on it. Overall, we had a great stay while staying at this hotel. We will definitely stay here again the next time we come to this area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevineamigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed here one night, and I was impressed. Very comfortable beds, wonderful shower, pool and jacuzzi, close to restaurants and 95. My only negative was that the jacuzzi was warm, and couldn't really be qualified as a "hot" tub. That being said, I did spend over an hour in it. I would stay here again, and recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flootsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights for business. While we were there, the JROTC stayed there with us. All night we heard loud noises, doors banging, and general horse play. When the hotel staff was notified, they seemed incapable of stopping the noise. The very next night, there was a family re-union and the same things occurred. My advice: If you would like peace and quiet and a good night’s sleep, stay somewhere alts.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn Near Quantico Main Gate
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Near Potomac Mills
4.8 mi away
Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills
Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills
#8 of 16 in Woodbridge
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Quality Inn near Potomac Mills
Quality Inn near Potomac Mills
#13 of 16 in Woodbridge
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
10.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Gunston Corner
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Dumfries/Quantico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Dumfries/Quantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Dumfries/Quantico

Property: Comfort Inn Dumfries/Quantico
Address: 16931 Old Stage Rd, Dumfries, VA 22025-1917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Dumfries
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Dumfries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Dumfries/Quantico 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Hotel is centrally located between Washington, D.C. and Fredericksburg. This Dumfries hotel is minutes from the Potomac Mills outlet mall, Marine Corps Base Quantico, the National Museum of the Marine Corps, the FBI Academy training facility and the Quantico National Cemetery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Dumfries/Quantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Dumfries Quantico
Dumfries Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing