We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not Southern Food!”
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
Ranked #4 of 54 Restaurants in Dumfries
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This is not Southern Food!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The resturant serves huge portions but this does not make up for the lack of quality. The sole exception to a bad experience is the chicken Caesar salad, otherwise even the bread is awful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1LarryFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    41
    25
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newport News, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nice atmosphere with fire place burning food is good and nice staff. Make sure you browse all the goodies you can buy at their shop. Got there around 10:30 am was quite and since we were on the road took us not time to eat and go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
273 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were on our way to Northern Virginia this weekend and stopped by the Dumfries Cracker Barrel for breakfast and as usual we were not disappointed. It was around 9:00 when we arrived and the parking lot was packed but we were seated within a couple of minutes and had our food within 10 minutes. Really impressed with the service especially as busy as they were. Our waitress was very friendly and checked on us several times for coffee refills or to see if we needed anything. My wife ordered a muffin and fried apples which she said was delicious. I ordered french toast and it was perfect. All the Cracker Barrel's we have eaten at have always been great and this one was no exception. We'll definitely stop at this particular one again the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duffey3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Another fine Cracker Barrel”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This restaurant was another fine Cracker Barrel. Our food was very good and the server was very friendly and attentive to our needs!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Food Okay - Service Awful”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were on the road and needed a good meal so we exited for the nearest Cracker Barrel. The food is usually good and familiar when traveling and you are not sure where you are. The food was okay. I ordered the grilled pork chop and it was very dry. The biggest problem was with the lady who waited our table. She took our order and brought the food but did not bring any bread which I believe is a part of every meal. She never returned to refill our drinks. When she brought the check, we requested drinks to go. She brought one but never brought mine. When she put the check down on the table, she had drawn very childlike pictures all over it and made sure that the area that stated that gratuity was not included had a box drawn around it. I felt this was very unprofessional and if she wants a good tip she needs to earn it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

Dumfries, Prince William County
Dumfries, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing