We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“CRABS CRABS CRABS” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tim's Rivershore Restaurant and Crabhouse

Tim's Rivershore Restaurant and Crabhouse
Ranked #11 of 53 Restaurants in Dumfries
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dumfries, Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“CRABS CRABS CRABS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Quality of crabs was great, and they kept on coming--hot from the steamer. Finally a place like maryland diner which serve on the water.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ourtake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    52
    33
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beachy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nothing fancy here! It's a great place to go eat seafood, play a little Keno, and watch all the boats come in. Very casual place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank carsicknot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Looks like this could be fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We found this restaurant using an internet search. It's definitely off the beaten path but looks like it could be fun in season! We were there on a Tuesday night in September and it felt like "end of the season." Good food and the waitress was very pleasant. It's right on the Potomac so there is a waterfront feel to it. Inside eating and outdoor decks and tiki bar. There was a huge sandy area with what look liked a bonfire pit and stacks of outdoor chairs. I bet this place is hopping in the summer; there are boat docks attached so I'm assuming that they get boating customers too. The interior was sort of nautical, random, organized disarray theme - one of those with an intentionally unconventional feel. The food was good. The only weird thing is that a train goes zooming by periodically and some of the parking is on the other side of the tracks. Wouldn't want to have a few drinks and then attempt to traverse that train track. I would recommend this restaurant for a fun evening out where atmosphere is more important than the actual food. My friend had the all you can eat crabs for $20 (the special was only if you paid cash). I had stuffed shrimp. Very good. The waitress let me sample a brew they were offering which was a nice touch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PKPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“always a great time with gorgeous views and delicious seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The best is the all you can eat crab promotion so try and go on that day. Full Moon bonfires are a perfect way to enjoy the evening with live entertainment and great drink specials.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 5oclocksomwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for a hangout and entertainment, but that's it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Let's be honest, we all go here for the entertainment and the atmosphere. The food is alright, but nothing to write home about. Their prices are a little ridiculous for the value (especially their drinks), but I tolerate and accept it because it is on the shore.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tim's Rivershore Restaurant and Crabhouse also viewed

Dumfries, Prince William County
Dumfries, Prince William County
 
Dumfries, Prince William County
Dumfries, Prince William County
 

Been to Tim's Rivershore Restaurant and Crabhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing