We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect for a quick stop, beats the lounges hands down”
Review of Vino Volo Wine Bar

Vino Volo Wine Bar
Ranked #1 of 92 Restaurants in Dulles
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Old Radnor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Almost perfect for a quick stop, beats the lounges hands down”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just could not bear the United lounge any more. Wall to wall businessmen watching golf. Snuck out to Vino vole. An oasis of peace, tranquility and flavor in the desert that is terminal three at IAD. Has a serving of delicious olives (mixed and very flavorful), the three artisan cheeses (snack sized portions perfect with wine) and a very perfect glass of Pinot noir. Wine was just perfect so I assume it was opened that afternoon. The staff was helpful and did a great job helping new customers feel at ease with the rather distinct style of the place (Q. what is it: restaurant, wine bar, hangout, refuge A. All of the above). Only negative was the occasional waft of smoke coming from a nearby smokers box. Sadly still 2h before my flight so I have to go back to the lounge... woe is me......

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    45
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little gem not to be missed, worth the walk to C3”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I wish I had found this earlier on my layover in Dulles. What a treat to find a place of such caliber at an airport. The lights were dimmer and the place was lovely and cosy. Great staff, lovely food, i had the chilli and sav blanc and loved the idea of tasting a few. Worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshOKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Vino Volo - the anti-sports bar”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Vino Volo is a wine bar chain - primarily in airports. The Dulles Vino Volo is located next to gate C2.

Vino Volo offers an excellent selection of wines by the glass or by the flight. The food menu offers appetizers, small plates and desserts and is reasonably priced. I had the warm brie, prosciutto and fig jam on baguette. $7 for a half baguette. Perfect. I tried a flight of "delightful" bubbly. Especially liked a non-vintage Grand Courtage rosé.

Indulge yourself in the comfortable, soothing low-key atmosphere and pleasant knowledgeable service.

Wines are also sold by the bottle.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roberta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“About as good as airports get”
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The wine choice is better than you are going to get at most airports and the small plates beat the usual burger and Mexican chains.

I always have a flight to try something new.

Not a place I'ld take my fiancée on date night but a good place to be when waiting for your next flight.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gldnstrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Nice way to kill time at IAD”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

With 4-5 flights of 3 wines ranging from $9-$23 and a good selection of small meals, this is a great place to wait out a long layover. Their 2 dessert special is also well worth the $9.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweagle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vino Volo Wine Bar also viewed

Dulles, Loudoun County
Herndon, Fairfax County
 
Dulles, Loudoun County
Dulles, Loudoun County
 
Dulles, Loudoun County
Dulles, Loudoun County
 

Been to Vino Volo Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing