We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Chance encounter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Syracuse
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chance encounter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Like many other reviewers of this property, we ended up here because of a cancelled United flight that was grounded for mechanical issues - interestingly, it was one of four mechanical cancellations by United we witnessed that day! The voucher for the room was provided by the airlines. We arrived at the hotel at night after a long and frustrating day at about 11:30 pm. The front desk staff were quickly accommodating large numbers of arriving people. The room was comfortable and surprisingly quiet despite the proximity to the airport. There is free wi-fi in the lobby area and a free shuttle to the airport. Food was okay although we didn't opt to have a full meal. Service was a little slow at night - seemed only one person was covering the dining area. While this wouldn't be my first pick for a DC hotel, I was pleased to have ended up with a very comfortable room and bath.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bus_Pleasure_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Bus_Pleasure_Travels,

Thank you for posting your review on your unplanned stay here at our hotel. We are glad that we were able to provide a safe, warm, comfortable place for you to stay. We do apologize about any slow service that you may have experienced. When flights are cancelled at the last minute due to mechanical issues, our property can go from normal check-ins and check-outs to an overly busy arrival experience within minutes so it can be hard to manage staff allocation, but we do our best. We always appreciate guests' patience during these times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    226
    131
    52
    29
See reviews for
95
106
51
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This was an unplanned overnight stay due to a missed flight. Arrived at 10:30pm with voucher from United Airlines, booked in without problem. Was sent straight to the basement, ok it was the subterranean first floor in a King room, directly across pool, workout room and spa(?) Naturally, they had all closed at 10pm. Tried to use the pool, but once in the pool room, a siren went off. So I just went to my room and thought about using room service, however, guess what? It closed at 11pm, five minutes earlier. Oh well went to bed, didn't sleep well, but that wasn't the hotels fault, just me. Got up at 5:30am, used the shower/bathroom and found it clean and tidy.
The hotel is dated but the bar looked inviting in the evening and the 10$ breakfast buffet sure did smell good when I passed it at 6am, and if I had a few more minutes, I would have definitely eaten there. So if you have a chance, try it!

Room Tip: Get up a little earlier and try the 10$ breakfast buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank del7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Del7777777


We are so sorry that you had flight difficulties but glad that you came to stay with us. We do apologize that our operational schedule was not conducive to your arrival timing, but glad that you had an enjoyable stay nonetheless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

On Sunday, February 16, I had my first stay at the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott due to a 12 hours over night lay over at IAD (Istanbul via Frankfurt with lay over IAD continuation to SFO then Honolulu). Exited Customs and called the hotel at 8:35PM for shuttle pick up. I was told shuttle picks up paxs every 15 minutes. No shuttle and the number of paxs waiting for the shuttle grows at 2H, so I called the hotel again at 8:52PM and I was told the shuttle was on its way and it would take longer due to the snow on the roadways. (BTW the roadways were clear and dry without any snow.) Another 15 minutes go by and at 9:03PM I call the hotel and get the same response... now a huge crowd of paxs are waiting for the Marriott shuttle. Finally, the shuttle shows up and the mass hoard rushes to the shuttle. Only half of the paxs were able to get on board and the shuttle driver is calling the hotel and pleading with the person on the other end to send the other shuttle to the airport due to the angry paxs. Check in was okay and I received an apology for the shuttle tardiness. The concierge level room and lounge were nice. I had breakfast in the morning in the Concierge Lounge and the staff was very friendly. The cold, lack of personality front desk agent, Jim, checked me out after I had breakfast. His reply was "You're checked out." I did NOT hear the usual check out courtesy message: How was your stay with us? Thank you for being a gold member and we hope to see you again. I thought that it was rude and unprofessional of Jim, so I went back to the desk and asked him if the service at this hotel is always a horrible experience. I told him about the shuttle incident last evening, but my horrible service comments were more directed at his performance (I already received an apology for the shuttle tardiness on Sunday night during check in). I asked for the manager on duty business card, but he told me that the cards were locked in the manager's office. I asked him to write down the manager's name and he only wrote the first name, Daniel, on one of the hotel cards. My final words to him, "I'm glad I'm not staying this hotel again." (I have a booking at the Marriott Washington Dulles Suites for my 12 hour over night layover stay in March 2014. The Marriott Suites reviews are better and their shuttle service seems reliable - their shuttle appeared twice before the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott every 15 minute shuttle appeared.)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OahuTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear OahuTrvlr,

It is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way and we are truly sorry for the shuttle delays that you experienced. This bad winter has indeed played some havoc on our shuttle but we do our best at all times to ensure a timely pickup and dropoff as we know that travelers are weary from their flights. We also coach our associates to provide a warm and welcoming experience for guests at all times and your interaction is clearly not acceptable. We will be reviewing this situation immediately and appreciate that you brought it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I like Marriott. Ok so it is the same box, everywhere but it is reliable, clean, functional with a nod to friendly.

That's a good achievement in this day and age.

This Marriott didn't disappoint.

Reliably Marriott

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SenorFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear SenorFirenze,


We love to hear that our guests like you "like Marriott." Thanks so much for sharing your opinions about our reliability. We hope to welcome you back again one day soon at our hotel -- or another Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here due to missed connection (along with many others). Reception was quick and efficient, room was a little characterless but after over 4 hours of queuing at the airport, if it just had a bed I'd have taken it! The bar area was nice, pretty good selection if beers and food. Airport shuttle was bang on time and takes 5-10 mins.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanleytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Stanleytic,

We are very sorry that you were stuck at the airport but glad that we were able to provide you with a clean and comfortable place to sleep. Thank you for your positive comments about our shuttle and we will be sure to pass these accolades on to our drivers as it will mean a lot to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
127 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night at the end of a two week business trip on the 29th of January. Check in was fast and easy. As a gold member they upgraded me to suite always a good start. As with most full marriotts they rooms are dark and the furniture a little old fashioned and tired looking but comfortable. Nice living / dining and bedroom but toilet is small. The bar area and lounge are modern in comparison to the rooms and looked to have been upgraded fairly recently. The staff in this area were friendly and very efficient. The food was very average and expensive. The room service pizza was good but 23 dollars, I should have ordered Domminos. Concierge lounge was good. Within walking distance of the airport.
Overall an average hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Andrew R,

As a clear road warrior who logs a lot of miles, we appreciate the time you took to post your review of our hotel. Thanks so much for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

As you drive out of the airport you may see the marriott sign and think "oh what a dinky dink little hotel". But as you pull up to it, notice an inviting front entryway, open air lobby/lobby bar and restaurant and the building completely surrounding a quiet, peaceful courtyard with indoor/outdoor pool and fitness centers.
Service was excellent! Front desk staff extremely helpful.

I got in around 10pm and sat in the lobby bar area. Famished, I tried the petit filet mignon. It rivaled steaks I've had at fine steakhouses across the country. And at $27 a bargain.

Room was clean spacious and comfortable. Only downside - elevator was broken and I had a bunch of luggage. Only one flight up, but hey.

If you're looking to stay in the Dulles area, this is the hotel to do it at.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Ed L,

We greatly appreciate your review of our hotel and are very sorry about the broken elevator. We would have been happy to assist in bringing your bags up to your room for you. Thank you very much for the kind words about the hotel and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#6 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 865 reviews
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Property: Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Address: 45020 Aviation Dr, Dulles, VA 20166-7506
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing