We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, nice rooms and good service, Poor restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washington Dulles Airport Marriott to your Saves list
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Level Contributor
321 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms and good service, Poor restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel the other night and found the hotel to be very nice. I loved the bed! My wife loved the bathroom and we both enjoyed the workout facility. The staff appeared to be very well trained and educated about their jobs and were very helpful. I would stay at this hotel again, without a doubt. What I didn't like was the restaurant.

The restaurant in this hotel served us awful food. The service in the restaurant was excellent, the food was horrible. Both of us commented that we had not encountered worse food than this place. The hotel needs to take some action with the culinary staff, or lack thereof.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 678855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear 678855,

We appreciate your kind review of our property. While it is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way, clearly we did not meet your expectations with regard to our restaurant cuisine and for that we are truly sorry. We take every review very seriously and will be sharing your feedback with the appropriate managers during our next department meeting. Please know that it is not acceptable for a guest to leave with such a negative impression. We thank you for sharing your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    224
    127
    52
    29
See reviews for
95
103
48
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Marriott is quite convenient, right at the airport, minutes from the terminal and with a frequent shuttle. I stayed overnight to connect early the next morning and found the staff friendly and helpful. The room is a traditional older Marriott room, but we good value for the money. And, the shuttle started early and ran reliably to get me back to the terminal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear David M,

Thanks so much for your kind review of our property. More often than not, what you experienced is exactly why travelers stay at our hotel so we are so glad that we were able to be a reliable home away from home in between flights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My flight out of Dulles was canceled, and Dulles is not conveniently located to inexpensive hotels. I went to the luggage area to recover my suitcase, and there was a traveler's info counter with several staff. A gentleman there called the Dulles Marriott and got me a room for $95, which I greatly appreciated. The Marriott shuttle ran every 15 minutes, and within 40 minutes of learning my flight was canceled I was in my room. The hotel seems to have been squeezed into available space and has a network of long corridors - I had a long walk from the desk. The room was OK, nothing special. I did not use the other facilities. But I needed a place to hole up on a very, very cold winter night, and I was grateful to find this located at the airport.

Room Tip: Forget about view. A room near the entrance will make life simpler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fringe_Gatherer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Fringe_Gatherer,

Thank you for noting that we saved you on a cold winter's night at Dulles. It is our aim to provide safe and convenient shuttle transportation to and from our hotel and offer guests warm, comfortable accommodations either at the start or end of their trip, and clearly we succeeded during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nice Marriott with a reasonably priced park-n-fly option. The shuttle drivers were very nice and available past the published times.
The outdoor hotel closes very early but the inside pool has longer hours. The hot tub is no longer available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaFreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear VirginiaFreeze,

We appreciate the time you took to post your review of our hotel and our Park N Fly option. It is very popular with travelers who seek an affordable option when heading out of town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
214 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Have stayed here many times over the years, rooms have been redone, and it was a snowy night, so many stranded travelers were trickling in all night long, and there were a few office parties that were really loud passing through the halls, but other than that, a standard Marriott stay with friendly service, and nice personnel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fooddr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director Of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Fooddr,

Thank you for being a loyal guest. We appreciate your continued patronage and also your positive comments about our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
416 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

we had a terrible experience leaving Cancun, flight delays, lost luggage, missed connections, hours in customs line-up and to top it all off we couldn't get another flight out until the morning. So we decided we would take a hotel room. The shuttle comes to pick you up at 2H at the parking level of the airport (right out from baggage claim). We arrived at around 1:00am and were greeted by the front desk agent. Got our keys and room quickly and before long ready for bed. The beds were heaven...like falling onto a marshmallow! The pillows equally as incredible! I just wanted to roll around in the bed like a little kid! It was exactely what I needed after a week in Cancun with rock hard beds and a crazy 12 hour travel day. The amenities provided by the hotel were great! The aromatherapy body wash, orange and tangerine rice bran soap...I wanted to have extra to take home! I would most definitely stay here again if ever in the area, and will for certain stay again with the brand just for the beds!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinMcKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, Director of Operations at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear BinMcKin,

We know traveling can be stressful and were happy to learn that our staff and the hotel made your overnight stay with us so pleasant. Making our guests feel welcome and comfortable is a goal that we strive for each day and it certainly sounds like you had a "heavenly" night's sleep at our Marriott! We are glad to know the hotel amenities helped to make a difference in your stay. We appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your experience with other TripAdvisor members and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
291 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I spent one night here, after arriving at Dulles late on a Sunday night. This is the closest hotel for an arriving passenger. There is a shuttle bus, but I already had a rental car, so the free parking is a plus as well. I was pleasantly surprised at how quiet my room was (tower 3, 3rd floor). The room was spacious and comfortable, typical for a full service Marriott. Breakfast at the exec lounge the next morning was fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Dulles_Marriott, at Washington Dulles Airport Marriott, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Steve K,
We are very happy that your quick, one night stay was to your liking and that you were able to take advantage of the free parking and enjoy breakfast before you were on your way. We strive to make each guests stay a comfortable and enjoyable one. We hope you will stay again, next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#6 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Property: Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Address: 45020 Aviation Drive, Dulles, VA 20166
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing