We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Worst Marriott” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Marriott”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Marriott at Dulles is the worst in the system. Marriott prices but a poor facility and badly managed.
I was assigned a room with a very noisy air conditioning/heating system. The room was 66 degrees F when I checked in. The heat did not work. After shivering I called the front desk and ask for an engineer. The engineer never came. I called again and asked for blankets. The blankets never came. Finally, after two hours, I got up, repacked, and hauled my luggage to the front desk and asked for another room. The second room was OK but not the Marriott quality. The elevator needs maintenance. Bumpy with lots of sudden drops.
When I checked out I explained my two hours of agony as asked for room compensation. It was denied by a very arrogant front desk manager. So I paid the full fare.
Not sure what has happened to the Marriott quality and integrity. Usually it is good but not at the Marriott Dulles airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Softcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    244
    146
    55
    30
See reviews for
105
121
54
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a flight cancellation and we were required to stay at the Marriott Hotel on the Dulles Airport grounds. We routinely prefer Marriott properties but this facility is the exception to the rule. It is the only hotel on the airport grounds. This Marriott makes the Motel 6 look like luxury. We were assigned to a room in the basement that had a boarded up exterior door and an equally outdated bathroom. The room had a musty odor. The only positive comment I can make is that the room and bathroom were clean. Come on Marriott take some pride in your property and bulldoze this one and start from the dirt up.

Room Tip: Choose another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank particular54184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I recently spent two nights at this hotel, service was very good, the room was nice and clean, and the onsite restaurant served a good breakfast.

The weekend rates make this property a good value for the area, though you will need a car to get around, as there isn't anything within walking distance.

Parking is right at the property, and free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LikestoTravel277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I arrived at this hotel on September 1 checking out the following morning. I was very pleased when I arrived and the check in process was handled swiftly. The front desk agents were very helpful and I really liked how as it was the weekend holiday Internet was free. The rooms were very comfortable and nicely kelp with no issues. Mostly why I chose this hotel was due to its closeness to IAD dulles airport. I also liked how the hotel provided a shuttle to and from the airport. When I checked out the following morning the shuttle man was up and ready to go. The restaurant food was good and all was well. I was sad to get up the following morning so early and leave. I recommend this hotel to anyone on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at the Marriott Dulles in July for one night after a flight. The reception area was large with plenty of meeting and public spaces. As a Marriott Rewards Gold holder I used the executive lounge which was well stocked in the evening and at breakfast. My room was smart and functional but I agree with other comments here regarding a facelift as parts of the room and particulary the bathroom were a little tired. I did not have any trouble sleeping and found the hotel to be calm & quiet, it was close to the car rental depots and there was plenty of parking. Not a 5* experience but certainly functional and convenient, if you are staying for a night or 2 it will be fine but there are better (and cheaper) options for extended stays closeby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toddington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The location at Dulles Airport is great for business or if you want to tour the city. All the staff are extremely friendly and courteous at all times. The lobby/reception area is beautiful, and has an excellent bar and restaurant with reasonable prices and good food. The rooms are typical Marriott, comfortable and predictable, but in the case of my room, there was some wear and tear. The bathtub needed resurfacing, there were some stains on the carpets, just generally a little worn down. If the rooms matched the lobby this would be a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiseman1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very helpful and professional personnel, quiet room and although close to airport, no outside and even air conditioner noise. Clean and pleasant room, well equipped, provided comfort and a peaceful good night rest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmina208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Property: Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Address: 45020 Aviation Dr, Dulles, VA 20166-7506
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing