We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel - Rooms need a little facelift” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - Rooms need a little facelift”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The location at Dulles Airport is great for business or if you want to tour the city. All the staff are extremely friendly and courteous at all times. The lobby/reception area is beautiful, and has an excellent bar and restaurant with reasonable prices and good food. The rooms are typical Marriott, comfortable and predictable, but in the case of my room, there was some wear and tear. The bathtub needed resurfacing, there were some stains on the carpets, just generally a little worn down. If the rooms matched the lobby this would be a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiseman1154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    239
    139
    53
    29
See reviews for
99
115
52
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very helpful and professional personnel, quiet room and although close to airport, no outside and even air conditioner noise. Clean and pleasant room, well equipped, provided comfort and a peaceful good night rest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmina208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night due to its proximity to Dulles. It was the most uncomfortable night I've spent in an airport hotel.

Unlike other airport hotels where I've stayed, this one had inadequate soundproofing. Not only was there loud jet noise, there was actual vibration. Both made sleep difficult.

The hotel provided tiny pillows (smaller than a standard pillow but larger than a throw pillow). The pillows provided insufficient head/neck support and added to the difficulty of getting some much-needed rest after a long day of travel.

The phone in our room rang multiple times between 2 and 5 am, making sound sleep impossible. In fairness, I'm not sure if this was due to a system malfunction or misdials, but it made a miserable night more so. We finally unplugged the phone to silence it.

The restaurant was closed when we arrived 10:00 pm, famished (despite being located at an international airport, I guess Marriott assumes all arriving travelers are on DC time). The only on-site dining option was the bar area, which was incredibly loud due to the blaring of multiple TVs. The food quality was poor.

Bottom line: if I again found myself needing overnight accommodation near Dulles, I'd look elsewhere.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCtravler244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Laird, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

For a Marriott property, this hotel was OK, but nothing great. My family always chooses Marriott hotels because they keep to a high standard of clean rooms, good food, and great service. The location of this hotel made it easy to find, and it was very close to the airport. That really helped us in getting to the airport for our 6:00 a.m. flight the next morning. Our only real complaint was about the double beds in the rooms; not good when you have a family with three kids, and the length of time it took the hotel to get the requested rollaway bed to us (almost 2 hours). We had requested the rollaway well in advance of our stay. The hotel could use a décor update. Otherwise, this is a really convenient place to stay if you want to be very close to the airport.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the lounge area if you want to get good sleep. Traffic in and out all nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familiyoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott on Tuesday, August 6 so we could leave early the next morning. The only complaint we had was that we stayed in what we think was room 110 which was very close to the workout room and the Human Resources office where people were slamming doors and talking loudly much of the night and early morning. We thought they were probably reporting for work and greeting each other. So, we will ask to be away from that area next time. But, the shuttle was efficient and consistently runs from the hotel to the airport, with very polite drivers. The room was clean and the total for that plus parking for twelve days was a little over 200 dollars, which we felt was fair. We will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the door to the pool and Human Resources if you like quiet when trying to slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueLovesTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for one night prior to flight home. Hotel is really well located and easy to find. The reception staff were very helpful and the room was really nice and large with all the facilities. It was very clean and well maintained. It was a fair walk at the other end of the square block. The breakfast next morning was nice and cost effective to have the continental breakfast rather than seperate items. Serving staff were very good and couldn't do enough to help. The grounds of the hotel are nice and the the pool areas looked very good. My only complaint is that Wi-Fi should be free across the hotel not just in the lobby area - even cheap hotels can manage that,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed there for nine nights (4-13 August 2013) We stayed at room 1317 and 1319 (connecting) in building three. The location of the rooms is quite nice, overlooking the lake and only 15 yards from where we parked our vehicles. There is a jogging track and tennis court in the back as well. The breakfast is standard Marriott American breakfast. There are two pools, one indoor and one outdoor, they were fun enough for the kids to pass sometimes. The shuttle to IAD is quite convenient, so we can get some coffee and food from the airport. All in all, the hotel is quite adequate, even for a long stay.

Room Tip: Building three is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suami_intan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Property: Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Address: 45020 Aviation Dr, Dulles, VA 20166-7506
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing