We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Disapointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is an average hotel at best. Very friendly front desk staff. Room is circa 1998. Smells musty. Awkward layout, took 10 minutes to walk to concierge lounge on same floor as my room.

Very close to airport though.

Bottom line stay here if you need to be across the street from the airport, if not, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frogbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    226
    131
    52
    29
See reviews for
95
106
50
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on business. Location is great, only few minutes from Dulles Airport. The staff is very nice, attentive and very customer oriented. As a Platinum member, they email you and welcome you before you even arrive. I asked for an early check in and they accomodated my request, which was very helpful for my schedule. The property itself is in very good shape (although it's not a typical big Marriott type) but I wouldn't consider it "top notch 5 stars" because it's a smaller hotel than the big "marquee"types you'd see in downtown areas. This one looks/has more of a Courtyard look (about 3 stories high) but better. Still, I had a very nice stay in a quiet room. I'd definitely would stay there again when I'm in the area in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayMoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Not great!
Room was absolutely fine but felt totally robbed paying 37 dollars for a glass of wine and a double baileys.
The room was picked up by the airline so fine - but I would certainly think twice before spending my own money here.
Breakfast buffet was not good for 18 dollars got a better choice in the complimentary buffet at the quality suites oceanfront Jacksonville Florida
Even stranded airport passengers have a choice where to stay
My advice if you are paying yourself you may want to shop around.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynheritage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabun Gap, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Convenient to the airport is worth something, but this Marriott is dark and dated, and there are lots of other hotels in the nearby vicinity where you might get a better value. Low ceilings, old carpets and a noisy heater were just enough to make me think that the price I paid for an upgraded room was just too much. On the plus side, the public/lounge area was a great place for a meeting, and the breakfast was good. All in all, not bad, but not what I hoped for.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, va
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The convenience of this hotel can't be beat, and the attentiveness of the staff is exemplary. For the rest, this is indeed a cut below the Marriotts we have become used to--and come to expect. It took quite a few interventions to receive the lounge access for which we had booked: there seem to be some (intended?) ambiguities between a room on the "Executive Floor" and with "Executive Lounge Access," between the website and the actual reservation, and even between different Elite memberships (especially if it is "only" Silver). In addition, for the so-called Executive Level, the room was utterly basic and barely standard, and the lounge food was minimal. These impressions were reinforced subsequently by a lack of response from the hotel management to our comments, and by a longer and more pleasant stay near Chicago, in a hotel of a competing chain. This competitor gave us far better value, and we may take a closer look at it for our further travels...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trimardWashington_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iran
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I was there because my flight was cancelled! It is absolutely not comparable with other marriott hotels. First of all, room was very small. walls were too thin that I could hear every thing!! Sheets were damaged and had stains.

Carpet was damaged, bath tub was stainy and very small. Shower was awful and didn't pour water smoothly.

I was woken up at 4 a.m because some crazy people at back of my door were speaking and making noise..

It was a terrible experience for me. Food was overpriced.

About the bed: There was a pad under the sheets that has a red color and look unpleasant. Sheets were torn!!! Also, I had only two small pillows and no regular-size pillow. Bed was uncomfortable.

It was like a inn rather than hotel!

Room Tip: Not choose rooms farthest to the lobby because you had to walk over two minutes in a low-ceiling hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Awesome_Coral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

With airport hotels I've come to expect slightly lower standards, this hotel is no different, that's not to say there's anything major wrong with it, it's just more Marriott courtyard than normal Marriott.

The hotel is situated in a surprisingly pleasant lake setting. The rooms are small but comfortable, the staff were helpful. The food was overpriced (again as expected) but adequate. Wifi is free if you're a rewards member (free to sign up) and worked great for 95% of the time.

The airport has a free airport shuttle running every 15 minutes from the hotel pick up curb. The hotel is around 5 minutes drive from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#6 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 stars 860 reviews
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dulles Airport Inn
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Property: Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Address: 45020 Aviation Dr, Dulles, VA 20166-7506
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing