We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great for an early flight out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Orange, Virginia
Level Contributor
368 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great for an early flight out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We live about 70 miles south of DC. When we need to take a morning flight, we always stay at the IAD Marriott. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Property, while certainly now getting older, still is very well maintained and has recently had a major renovation. Great food and bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 414Bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    239
    140
    53
    29
See reviews for
99
116
52
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We expected very little from an "airport" hotel. So it is with great surprise that we loved our stay at this jewel of a hotel. The rooms themselves were nothing special and the walk to the room down endless corridors was a bit of a grind, but beyond that we loved our stay. The Marriott club on the second floor had fresh fruit, soda, fresh coffee and different foods depending on the time of day. Met some interesting people there as well.

But what separates this hotel from others is the staff. I have stayed in some grand hotels in Europe and some in the US, but the staff here was equal to any I have ever encountered. They were gracious, enthusiastic, knowledgeable and probably the best-looking counter people I have ever seen. We needed some advise about restaurants and such and they were very nice.

The internet in the room worked, something that you can't take for granted. The water pressure in the showers was consistent and hot and the towels were more than adequate. Cost of the stay was fair too.

The restaurant in the hotel serves a decent to good breakfast, including omelettes that are made to order.

If you need to stay over near Dulles, this would be a great choice.

Room Tip: Near an elevator close to the center core of the hotel would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyredhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We had an overnight connection at Dulles Airport on the way to the Carribean. This location is absolutely perfect. This hotel is one of the closest to the airport...and the bus picks you up promptly. Hotel lobby has been remodeled. Our room was extremely comfortable and the staff was gracious. The Concierge Lounge had a good selection of food and the staff was extremely helpful. When we checked in late, the front desk staff immediately offered us a bottle of water.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lobby OR for a larger room, ask for an end room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy3720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
859 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 906 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We live in the DC area, but whenever we have an early morning flight out of Dulles, we stay at the Marriott and are never disappointed. Rooms are smaller than most Marriotts, but well maintained and the stay and park rate is cheaper than parking in one of the airport economy lots-even though the property is on the airport grounds. It is also one of the few (if not the only) hotel around the airport in which the shuttle starts running at 4:30AM. Most of the others don't begin until 5AM, which is too late if you have a 6AM flight, considering the configuration of Dulles and the distance to most of the gates. But, we have never been disappointed in staying here and highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank romadaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

No problems with the standard of the room - on the smallish side, but very well appointed, clean and modern. But it cost me over $200 per night, and that was with a Government rate. I would suggest there are as good if not better accommodations outside the airport precinct, that are cheaper.

The location is perfect though if you are arriving late at night. There is a modest Internet charge (shame on you - all other 6 US accommodations I stayed at during this trip, across PA, MD, NJ and VA, were free!!) but overall I was happy enough with this accommodation and if arriving on a late flight into Dulles and just needed a handy nights accommodation, I would probably stay here again. It's also close enough (15 mins drive) to the Leesburg outlets for a shopping stint the next morning - bonus!

Room Tip: It's a massive hotel - choose carefully where you decide to park your car because you might be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeDudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

This Marriott is very clean and has a great location. What is weird about it, is how low the ceilings are in the hallways and the bathrooms. The hotel also is very oddly shaped and has multiple buildings, attached by long hallways.

It is an older property, but is up kept well.

The food services, while of excellent quality, is significantly overpriced.

It's a good stop over point and that's it. If you like a more modern approach - there are many other options that provide transportation to/from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ua85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Due to a flight cancellation in the middle of a long itinerary, the airline put me up at the Dulles Airport Marriott. I was grateful for a very comfortable bed in a clean, spacious room. Located right on the airport property, I was surprised at how very quiet it was. The airport shuttle runs every 15 minutes. Only complaint is that there was a charge for wi-fi in the room, but it is free in the lobby and restaurant areas if you don't mind the inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJCT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dulles
1.1 mi away
The Westin Washington Dulles Airport
1.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dulles
Hyatt Regency Dulles
#5 of 20 in Herndon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
1.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Washington, Dulles Herndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dulles Airport
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Herndon Dulles Airport Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dulles Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Dulles Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Dulles Airport Marriott

Property: Washington Dulles Airport Marriott
Address: 45020 Aviation Dr, Dulles, VA 20166-7506
Location: United States > Virginia > Loudoun County > Dulles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Dulles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Dulles Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located among Dulles Airport hotels in Northern Virginia, the Washington Dulles Airport Marriott provides easy access to the Dulles Technology Corridor and offers complimentary shuttle service to all Dulles International Airport terminals. With 368 well-appointed rooms and picturesque grounds, this Dulles hotel is perfect for business, weekend getaways and leisure travel. Guests will enjoy a wide variety of first-class hotel services and lodging amenities, including a fitness center, indoor/outdoor pool and Aviate Bar and Grill, our on-site Dulles restaurant. Local area attractions include the National Air and Space Museum, Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Reston Town Center Mall and Civil War battlefields. The 13,500 square feet of deluxe meeting and event space featured at this Dulles, VA hotel is perfect for weddings, social events and meetings. Depart from the ordinary and discover a Dulles Airport hotel destination providing unprecedented service for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Washington Dulles Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Dulles Airport Marriott Hotel Dulles
Dulles Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing